at&t unlimited in danger when buying from apple?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by utyankee, Sep 14, 2012.

  1. utyankee macrumors newbie

    utyankee

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    Got my phone ordered from Apple @ 3:04 this morning and was reading a couple articles afterwards that said to not order your iPhone from Apple if you have an old at&t unlimited data plan as it will mess it up when it comes time to activate.:eek:

    Can anyone verify this?

    If this is the case, when the phone arrives could I just take it into an at&t store and have them set it up?
     
  2. lulla01 macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #2
    unlimited




    I ordered from apple because their system was the most stable. I completed my order and in my confirmation it reaffirmed that I was keeping my unlimited plan. In fact I believe they did this by default so people wouldn't be confused.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    It's always worked in the past. Grandfathered ATT accounts and all of their settings just move right over to new hardware even when bought directly from Apple.
     
  4. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    How can someone confirm this if the iPhone 5 hasn't shipped yet.
     
  5. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #5
    Doesn't matter. It transferred over just fine on the 4S last year.
     
  6. HowardSmith macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #6
    Even if it was wrong, AT&T would fix it if you explained the situation. I am betting it is right and it will pick up the plan you have now. I did this on BOTH of my iPhone 5 units this am.
     
  7. Ben C. macrumors member

    Ben C.

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    The Unlimited Data plan was there, listed at every step of the order process.
    And just going in and checking my order status right now, it's still there:

    [​IMG]

    I wouldn't worry. That article you refer to was a bit paranoid and not really fact based IMO.
     
  8. MacChinoNyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #8
    When I ordered from the Apple website last night it showed my unlimited data just fine. Either way at&t would fix it. A positive thing about at&t.
     
  9. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #9
    I ordered from Apple and it didn't change anything. It stayed at unlimited data.
     
  10. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #10
    I had my $30 unlimited data as the default when I ordered, I can't pull up plan details now but will post when I can view them off Apple.com.
     
  11. erratikmind macrumors 6502a

    erratikmind

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    S.F./Las Vegas
    #11
    My Apple Store order also reflected my unlimited data plan, as well.
     

Share This Page