ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT or # ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by poohat1000, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. poohat1000 macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    configuring a mac pro, main use will be projects in motion - i know the gfx card is heavily used for that app... which is more suited to this need?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I'd go with the 3870 after market.

    If you can wait the 4850/70 would be a good option as well.
     
  3. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
  4. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #5
    yeah sorry i was being a retard.

    so i gather the 3870 is by far the way to go, thing is apple only offere these configs:

    # ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB
    # 2 x ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB [+ £80.01]
    # 3 x ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB [+ £160.00]
    # 4 x ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB [+ £240.01]
    # NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB [+ £90.01]
    # NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600 1.5GB [+ £1,799.99]


    If i went to an apple store would there be anyway i could buy one with a 3870 preinstalled?
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    The 3870 Mac & PC is an after market video card that you'd have to install yourself.
     
  6. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #7
    bollocks, so out of the default choices what would you reccomend for the time being?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    The 2600XT is fine.

    What's wrong with getting the 3870?
     
  8. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #9
    it means, installing it myself. I have absolutely zero idea how to do that :eek:

    i need to be prety much putting this machine to work out of the box.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    I will work out of the box with the HD2600XT. You'll get much better performance with the HD3870 though. If you don't want to upgrade your Mac Pro then you're missing a big portion of the reason in buying one.
     
  10. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    So easy Apple lets you do it yourself.
     

Share This Page