ATi Radeon HD 4870 *and* nVidia GeForce GT 120 in a Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zuurbekje, May 22, 2010.

  1. zuurbekje macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #1
    I have a current Mac Pro with a ATi Radeon HD 4870, and now I would like to add a third monitor.

    Now, a friend of mine had some weird problems when adding a second 8800GT to the previous generation Mac Pro -- remember, the nVidia 8800GT was the "better" option for that machine, and the Apple Store website would only give the option of just one nVidia 8800GT. (Or up to 3 or 4 ATi 2600XTs.) The machine would boot and all, but Final Cut Pro would crash when rendering. The solution was a downgrade to 2xATi 2600XT.

    The current situation is of course much the same: one can order multiple nVidia GT 120s or one ATi 4870. I am not going to try to add a second 4870 to my system, given my friend's experience with two "better" videocards. But I would like to add an nVidia GT 120 for this third monitor I'd like to add. Does anyone have experience with this? Will this work okay? And: is this risky in terms of OpenCL, i.e. is it possible that OpenCL gets confused as to what graphics card to use? That maybe, in a worst-case scenario, OpenCL is shut off altogether?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    I remember seeing some people with the exact same config. Dual 8800GTs may be too much for the PSU
     
  3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    You'll be fine. One of the former posters here (Tallest Skil) ran a 4870 and GT 120 in his machine.

    I doubt you'll have any problems regarding OpenCL, though I could be wrong.
     
  4. freeman727 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #4
    This configuration definitely works. I have an XFX ATI 4870 (hacked) and GT120 in my MP. It drives 3 screens.
     
  5. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #5
    I can also confirm this works.

    I've got an ATI 4870 driving my 23 ACD, and a GT120 driving my 50" TV.
     
  6. zuurbekje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #6
    Thanks for informing me about your results! Much appreciated! (I know what to get now.)
     

Share This Page