ATT grandfathered is data still unlimited if updated to 4S?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bobright, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. bobright macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I forgot to ask at the Apple store when I got it hooked up. Does anybody know if your plan remains unlimited?
     
  2. BIG-MAC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #2
    Yes u should still have unlimited Internet. As long as u don't change your plan it should stay the same no matter what smart phone u get. If u want to double check dial *data# and call it u'll get a free text with ur data plan should say unlimited if not call AT&T asap. :)
     
  3. bobright thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Awesome yup it's unimited thanks BIG-MAC
     
  4. cyks macrumors 68020

    cyks

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #4
    Depends on if your 'unlimited data' is on a smartphone plan or not. If you're upgrading from another smartphone to an iPhone, you should be fine.
     
  5. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #5
    I just ordered a 4S for my wife, and was pleasantly surprised there still was an unlimited option ($30).

    I gave mine up when I had to enable tethering on my 3GS, so I only had the 2 or 4GB plans available when I upgraded to the 4S. I do still have my 200 msg text plan ($5).
     
  6. michaelz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #6
    Yes, I still have my unlimited data after upgrade to 4s.
     
  7. Digidesign, Nov 23, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2011

    Digidesign macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #7
    I also kept my unlimited data plan, however, I just found out that if you go beyond 2GB, ATT will hassle you and "throttle down" your speed.

    Ridiculous. They sent me a notice saying that "I am in the top 5% of users who abuse the privilege of being on their awesome network. How dare I!"

    Top 5%. really? for using 2.1GB? :rolleyes:

    Anyway, just a heads up. It's "unlimited", but crippled after 2GB.

    [edit]
    Called ATT, the rep said 2GB was fine and they don't know why I got the notice. If this happens to you at 2GB, give them a call as well #611.

    Also, here's the text from ATT's email. My post above is not entirely correct, they'll warn you before crippling your speed.
     
  8. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    Dude that sucks, they should send out a notice if you hit at least 20GB.
     
  9. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #9
    I'm on almost 5 GB of usage this month and still hitting 5.5 Mbps down and 1.5 Mbps up.
     
  10. secondhandloser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Location:
    Wash, DC/ HSV, AL
    #10
    never been throttled, I used between 2-3 GB a month. Haven't seen anyone dealing with it unless they are well above the 5GB mark
     
  11. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #11
    Last month I used 3GB and never got a notice.
     
  12. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #12
    I used 6.5GB last month and never got a text from ATT.
     
  13. Digidesign macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #13
    Yeah, 20GB makes sense. 2 does not.

    Here's a screencap of the txt and a grab from the ATT billing site.
    [​IMG]

    Those who didn't get a notice... awesome. I'll give them a call later today to see what they have to say...
     
  14. bobright thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I've never got a text EVER and have pretty extensively tethered *oops* to my iPad via mywi :)
     
  15. Wide opeN macrumors 6502a

    Wide opeN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #15
    Digi, not to call you out or anything BUT we have no way to corroborate what your actual usage is!?

    Reason I say, is because your usage amount isn't jibing with any of the posted usages of anyone else. Whether a message was received or not.

    Are you a trojan horse!? Yes, seriously :confused:
     
  16. bobright thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I smell a troll.....
     
  17. Digidesign, Nov 23, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2011

    Digidesign macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #17
    Hah! I wish it was made up. But unfortunately, this is truly ATT being stupid. :rolleyes:

    I just called ATT and talked with a rep. She was confused why I got the notice and said that my usage is not high at all (last month was under a gig and the month before that was 1.5). The only reason she could give for me getting the notice was that they may have "mixed me up" with another user (probably bowlerman625 - u bastard lol). She said she made a note on my account and to keep an eye on the speeds and if it drops, to give them a call.

    I'll update my post above to reflect the call.

    BTW: it looks like I'm not the only one Getting these notices at 2GB

    People complaining on the ATT forums
     

Share This Page