Begining sprint iphones unlocked question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jongo1, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. Jongo1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #1
    Okay so for about a month when the iPhone 4s first got released they were unlocked on sprint. Now does that mean they are factory unlocked like I can put a ATT sim card in it and it work, or...?? I don't know what it means by the sim is unlocked. I know mine is unlocked because i pre-ordered it and got it before they started locking them.
     
  2. SporkLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #2
    Domestically it will not lock onto ATT or TMOBILE towers using a domestic carrier SIM.

    All it really means is that you can put in a foreign carriers sim and it will work.
     
  3. Jongo1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #3
    how come a domestic wont work but a international will?
     
  4. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Because it's locked to Sprint for domestic use!
     
  5. SporkLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #5
    Because domestically sprint and apple want you to use it on sprints network.

    If you put in a foreign sim you can lock onto AT&T or tmobile towers, but that would be crazy $$$$$
     
  6. Jongo1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #6
    I mean i get it. I just didnt get how the iPhone will know to allow foreign sims but locks domestic.
     
  7. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    Because it's dual now, GSM and CDMA.
     
  8. SporkLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #8
    Radio is programmed to not connect to domestic network when domestic sim installed. All pretty standard, sprint has done this with most of their world phones.
     

Share This Page