iPhone Besides NCsettings, Auxo, & SBsettings... any other way to turn off 3G / force Edge?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by waa1futs, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. waa1futs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    #1
    I have an iPhone 4S on AT&T.

    A recent NCsettings update took away its ability to turn off 3G / force Edge - so no longer an option. Welp :(

    Auxo doesn't play nice with Zephyr - so not an option.

    SBsettings is a battery killer - so not an option.

    Any other option out there that gives me the ability to turn off 3G / force Edge if I want?
     
  2. Missjenna macrumors 6502a

    Missjenna

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    I haven't been able to test it yet, But i've heard that an older version of BatteryDoctorPro will work. See this thread http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1538477

    Search for BatteryDoctorPro version 3.6.1-224 on google and manually install the deb. Hope that helps. Once you install it, make sure that you don't update it.
     
  3. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #3
    Just use the 1.6.2 version of NCSettings. That's what I do. I have a 4S on AT&T. The 1.6.2 version is perfect.

    Although I recently started using akAuto3G which keeps my phone on edge all the time and automatically switches to 3G whenever I unlock my device. But for the entire time it's locked it remains on edge. Plus whenever I'm connected to wifi it keeps the phone permanently on edge as well. I love it. Works perfectly.

    But yea, just remove NCSettings via Cydia and then manually install the deb file for 1.6.2. That's what I did. No problems since!
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    If you receive a call, does it make the call in the "2G" spectrum or does it receive the call in the 3G band?

    Actually, honestly, I don't know if there's a difference in voice quality if you makes calls on 2G, 3G, etc or not. I tried googling but couldn't find any relevant information. Do you happen to know about this?
     
  5. BumpyFlatline, Apr 6, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2013

    BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #5
    No it doesn't switch radios for calls. Technically speaking though, if you're using your phonefor whatever reason, Internet, games, surfing Cydia, etc, and not on wifi then your phone will be on 3G. So if you are on a call most likely your device will be on 3G. But if your on wifi, your phone remains on edge and will stay that way even if your on a call. I don't notice any difference at all between the two radios when I'm on a call. I live in an area though where I almost always have full reception on both radios.

    The dev is gonna add an exception list too to the tweak in the next update. So if your listening to pandora or something similar where you want to keep the phone on 3G for streaming purposes, the tweak won't switch the radio to edge if you lock your device. There's also a dealt option too which I find very helpful because sometime ill put my phone down for a second and it'll lock. By default this would switch the radio from 3G to edge. But I might not want that to happen if I'm gonna pick the phone right back up to use. So I set a time delay. When the time expires it'll switch the radios. Very useful for me. I honestly love the tweak. I've had a great experience so far and he keeps updating it too. Plus he's extremely responsive when I email him.
     
  6. iaymnu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #6
    I'm using ncsettings 1.7-21 from the dev repo. I can switch between 3G-edge without hiccups.
    Don't see the need for the older version of NCsettings. It's very stable. I'm using a 4s.
     
  7. waa1futs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    #7
    Oh man, this method worked perfectly! Can I kiss you? ;)

    Ahhhh so nice having my 3G toggle back :D

    I never even knew you could install old cydia debs until you told me. I looked it up and its super simple with iFile (the hardest part being finding the old deb file).

    Thank you.
     
  8. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #8
    Haha no problem! I started a thread on this exact topic when 1.7.1 came out. That thread has a link to the deb file too. I knew I wasn't the only person who had issues with the new NCSettings. Since the 1.7.1 update was pretty much only for people with the iPhone 5 and LTE, I knew I needed to go back to 1.6.2. There is no additional benefits for people with the 4s to use 1.7.1.

    Yea it's super easy. And you're right. The hardest part is finding the deb file. Glad you got it sorted out!
     

Share This Page