BEST Internal SSD Drive for MacBookPro8,2 (April 2012) on the market RIGHT NOW?!??!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lip5016, Sep 20, 2014.

1. lip5016 macrumors regular

What would you say is the BEST Internal SSD Drive for MacBookPro8,2 on the market right now?

I work full-time as a musician in Logic X, and run a ton of CPU-intensive plugins, and needless to say, my relatively-new, MacBook Pro/Logic X (system info. in sig.) keeps on freezing up and crashing on me.. very frustrating, since I'm working in it for an excess of 12 hours a day.. Hoping that upgrading the system disk/startup disk and installing all my key music software on that, that I'll be able to run much more smoothly without as many "disk read/system overload" errors..

Since getting a new Mac Pro is not in my budget for the foreseeable future (lol), I figure I'll spend the extra $$ on decking out my current MacBook Pro (maxed RAM, and max CPU-offering at that time)..

What would be the BEST internal SSD that I could get for my MacBook Pro? I'm doing a TON of CPU-intensive processing all day in Logic X, so I'm willing to spend for the best money can buy, with 480-750GB+ storage capacity, and will be sufficient for the CPU-intensive work[/b] I'm doing all day.. I don't think the 1TB SSD's are worth their price just yet.. Will probably go for the 2nd highest storage model that's being offered..

What are your suggestions?

I want to place an order for one ASAP and will be selecting based off your input! Thanks!! :D

2. COrocket macrumors 6502

(Assuming you are looking for a 2.5" SSD) - Best of the best if you are willing to pay top dollar is the Samsung 850 Pro IMO. http://www.samsung.com/global/busin...isite/SSD/global/html/ssd850pro/overview.html