Best place to find instructions for VM/Vista to Bootcamp and Win7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by entatlrg, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. entatlrg macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #1
    I have Vista running with VMfusion on my MBP and I'd like to change that to running Windows 7 via Bootcamp.

    Could someone direct me to good instructions on how to do the 3 steps.

    (I think my plan to go about this is right, if not please correct me).

    1. Uninstall VM and Windows from my MacBook Pro.

    2. Reinstall Windows Vista via Bootcamp,

    3. Buy the upgrade to Windows 7 on Thursday set that up.

    * I'm doing this because I'll be needing to work more with Windows software for the next months and I think Win7 will run better with all the resources compared to VM Fusion, right? Or, is VM as good as or better than the Bootcamp route in your opinion?

    Thanks.
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    It really depends on what software you're gonna be running. If its all 3D extensive like games or CAD software, boot camp is your best bet. If its just Office 2007 and stuff like Visual Basic, then virtual machine would probably be better (no need to reboot). Then again, you can set up a boot camp and access it via VMWare Fusion.
     
  3. entatlrg thread starter macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #3
    I'm going to be doing a lot of CAD work, that's why I'm making the switch, K think it's the best way to go too.

    Can you suggest somewhere for instructions?

    From my searching I've only found people who've tried to do this and had problems and I couldn't find clear instructions for the uninstall, then reinstall of everything.
     
  4. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Do you want to save all your data from Vista? If not, just delete VMware, and install Vista with Bootcamp. If you do want to save everything, the easiest way would probably be to just back it all up, then copy it back later.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    You could also try converting your Vista VM to a Boot Camp Partition using the guide here: Here's one from VMWare itself http://www.vmware.com/support/v2p/doc/V2P_TechNote.pdf

    Then, you will probably have to activate and perform the W7 upgrade.

    It remains to be seen if there will be a clean install from W7 upgrade CDs workaround as there has been in every previous version of Windows, but if there is that would be an option too. And no I'm not suggesting you do anything other than work around an artificial limitation of the installer. If you don't qualify for an upgrade don't get one just because you may be able to clean install.

    B
     

Share This Page