Best Way of Upgrading Early 2008 15-inch MBP

sk1p2my1u

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2012
4
0
Hey guys, so my Macbook Pro from Early 2008 has been slowly chugging along for the past few years, but with the surge of technology, my specs look like they're decades outdated. Here are the specs:

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT

I'm looking to upgrade soon, perhaps after the next update with Ivy Bridge, but as of now, I'm looking to upgrade my current system. Are there any recommendations of upgrading, perhaps with more RAM, changing into a SSD, etc? It'd be the first time I'm trying to fiddle with my MBP, and any help would be appreciated, thanks!
 

iforbes

macrumors 6502
Dec 21, 2011
326
1
I would say that a Memory upgrade is going to be the best bang for your buck. Go to crucial.com and see what memory is available for your model. Probably less than $50 to upgrade to 4-8GB...not sure what the max is for a 2008.

SSD is way to expensive...unless you are planning on moving it to the next Macbook with Ivy Bridge...
 

sjtidy

macrumors member
Oct 29, 2011
49
10
I've got the same model as you. I upgraded to 4GB of RAM last year, and that helped speed it up a bit. Now I've started doing more intensive video work, I've ordered a new MacBook Pro. I would say the extra RAM did help a fair amount, but since upgrading to Lion, it started to get slow again.
 

oxfordguy

macrumors 6502a
Feb 27, 2008
503
4
Oxford, England
Hey guys, so my Macbook Pro from Early 2008 has been slowly chugging along for the past few years, but with the surge of technology, my specs look like they're decades outdated. Here are the specs:

2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT

I'm looking to upgrade soon, perhaps after the next update with Ivy Bridge, but as of now, I'm looking to upgrade my current system. Are there any recommendations of upgrading, perhaps with more RAM, changing into a SSD, etc? It'd be the first time I'm trying to fiddle with my MBP, and any help would be appreciated, thanks!
That model supports up to 6Gb. I recently upgraded my early-2008 2.5Ghz MBP to 6Gb RAM and replaced the HDD with a 256Gb Crucial M4 SSD, the thing flies now! :)
 

timotay89

macrumors regular
Jul 20, 2011
136
0
I have the same laptop. I started using Lion with the standard 2GB of RAM and almost cried from how slow it was running.

I upgraded to 6GB of RAM from Other World Computing and it's been fine ever since. It only slows down a bit when rendering in Final Cut Pro X. Everything else runs fine.
 

Ccrew

macrumors 68020
Feb 28, 2011
2,035
3
Best way to upgrade is to walk into an Apple store and buy a new one :)

Srsly, I wouldn't dump money into that machine when you know a new one is on the horizon, and I'm expecting mar/april.
 

NZed

macrumors 65816
Jan 24, 2011
1,136
1
Canada, Eh?
Best way to upgrade is to walk into an Apple store and buy a new one :)

Srsly, I wouldn't dump money into that machine when you know a new one is on the horizon, and I'm expecting mar/april.
why throw it away when the machine is fully usable??? :confused:
and maybe the OP doesnt need all the new upgrades coming...

just because its old doesnt make it useless and it doesnt mean you have to buy a new one when you start feeling its 'old'.
 

steve2112

macrumors 68040
Feb 20, 2009
3,023
6
East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
RAM is probably the easiest and cheapest upgrade you can do. The SSD will also make a huge difference, but that depends on your budget and if you are willing to spend that much on the machine. If you are looking to upgrade soon and get rid of that system, just upgrade the RAM. Even going to 4 or 6 GB would be a big improvement.
 

vitzr

macrumors 68030
Jul 28, 2011
2,766
3
California
Be patient, don't waste money on your current Mac. Buy the upcoming new model, you'll be glad you did.
 

steve2112

macrumors 68040
Feb 20, 2009
3,023
6
East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
Be patient, don't waste money on your current Mac. Buy the upcoming new model, you'll be glad you did.
Memory is cheap enough that it wouldn't really be a waste. With 4GB of memory running around $50 or so, it's not a lot of money for a decent improvement. Upgrading is a few months away, and this would improve things until then.
 

vitzr

macrumors 68030
Jul 28, 2011
2,766
3
California
Memory is cheap enough that it wouldn't really be a waste. With 4GB of memory running around $50 or so, it's not a lot of money for a decent improvement. Upgrading is a few months away, and this would improve things until then.
I don't disagree.

My suggestion was based on the thought that the OP has used it this long in it's current configuration, why not save every dollar towards the new computer.

It's all up to the OP :)
 

Geekbabe

macrumors 6502a
Nov 20, 2011
599
274
upgrade the ram to 6GB, you'll get more for the system when you're ready to sell it.
 

sk1p2my1u

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2012
4
0
Thanks for the help guys! Just a couple more questions please!

First of all, I went on Crucial.com, and found that there was actually a 4GB upgrade for DDR3 that was cheaper than the DDR2 counterpart, but I read that I cannot upgrade to DDR3 on a DDR2 system. Is that true?

Secondly, where are the options of me upgrading to a 6GB Memory?

The SSD pricings are killing me. I will probably hold off on that one or at least surf until I find a cheaper alternative!
 

thundersteele

macrumors 68030
Oct 19, 2011
2,984
7
Switzerland
Thanks for the help guys! Just a couple more questions please!

First of all, I went on Crucial.com, and found that there was actually a 4GB upgrade for DDR3 that was cheaper than the DDR2 counterpart, but I read that I cannot upgrade to DDR3 on a DDR2 system. Is that true?
Not possible. DDR3 RAM doesn't even fit in DDR2 slots, which is probably good since it might fry your machine

Secondly, where are the options of me upgrading to a 6GB Memory?
Well, you have to buy 4GB + 2 GB.

The SSD pricings are killing me. I will probably hold off on that one or at least surf until I find a cheaper alternative!
Prices are dropping very slowly unfortunately. On the plus side, you would be able to reuse the SSD in your new machine - unless Apple switches to mini-SATA that is.
 

Geekbabe

macrumors 6502a
Nov 20, 2011
599
274
Thanks for the help guys! Just a couple more questions please!

First of all, I went on Crucial.com, and found that there was actually a 4GB upgrade for DDR3 that was cheaper than the DDR2 counterpart, but I read that I cannot upgrade to DDR3 on a DDR2 system. Is that true?

Secondly, where are the options of me upgrading to a 6GB Memory?

The SSD pricings are killing me. I will probably hold off on that one or at least surf until I find a cheaper alternative!
I upgraded my last core duo Windows notebook with more ram & an SSD, when I bought my MBA, I just put the old hard drive back into the system & pulled the SSD. I got a decent price for the notebook & still have my fast drive.
 

FuNGi

macrumors 65816
Feb 26, 2010
1,112
28
California
I would run graphics intensive applications all night in the hopes that your 8600 chip dies (like many do) and Apple upgrades your machine for you ;)
 

sk1p2my1u

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2012
4
0
I ordered this so long ago, but had just installed my 4GB upgrade into my MBP. It's running pretty fast now. Not flying. But a sprint at the very least. Is there viable options to upgrade the Graphics Card? I might need it for some gaming and such, but it must be lots more difficult to upgrade.

Also, since the 4GB is great, I might go down the 6GB route. Since Crucial said that 4GB is recommended, and I do not believe there's a 4GB chip on sale as far as DDR2 is concerned, how do I do this?

...And that SSD route is pretty tempting. Are there restrictions as far as upgrades for hard drives?

Thanks again for your guys' help. You are all life savers!
 
Nov 28, 2010
22,684
27
located
I ordered this so long ago, but had just installed my 4GB upgrade into my MBP. It's running pretty fast now. Not flying. But a sprint at the very least. Is there viable options to upgrade the Graphics Card? I might need it for some gaming and such, but it must be lots more difficult to upgrade.
Not possible, as it is SOLDERED onto the logic board.

Also, since the 4GB is great, I might go down the 6GB route. Since Crucial said that 4GB is recommended, and I do not believe there's a 4GB chip on sale as far as DDR2 is concerned, how do I do this?
There are 4 GB 200-pin SO-DIMM DDR2 modules available via Newegg.
...And that SSD route is pretty tempting. Are there restrictions as far as upgrades for hard drives?
2.5" S-ATA HDD or SSD with a maximum height of 9.5 mm, which SSDs normally don't exceed.

 

alphaod

macrumors Core
Feb 9, 2008
22,164
1,209
NYC
There are 3 upgrades you can do on your machine (apart from using the ExpressCard slot):
1) Upgrade the RAM to 6GB (4GB+2GB).
2) Replace the HDD with a bigger HDD or a SSD.
3) Remove the optical drive and install another SSD/HDD in it's place.
 
Nov 28, 2010
22,684
27
located
hey, it really sound good to upgrade my ram to 4GB also it sound crazy that i can, upgrade to 6Gb,

but i have an important question hope you can help with that, i have the same mackbook pro and i want to have a bigger HD
now in this Link they say http://macs.about.com/od/diyguidesprojects/ss/macbook-pro-upgrade-guide_3.htm

Hard drive size supported: Up to 500 GB

on Crucial it's 1 TB

what do you think ?
It is the physical size that matters, and as of the time the article you linked to, only 500 GB were the correct physical size.

If you have a Non-Unibody MacBook Pro, the maximum height of a 2.5" HDD/SSD is 9.5 mm for 15" MBPs and 12.5 mm for 17" MBPs.

MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

the guide includes:
  • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
  • 1. Getting a new HDD
  • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
  • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
  • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)


Nowadays 1 TB HDDs with a maximum height of 9.5 mm exist.

----------

How do you newbies keep finding these old threads?
Searching via Advanced Search or Google probably?

That is how all the spammers find those threads searching for data recovery or video conversion software and add their own filth.
 

faresalandlos

macrumors newbie
Jan 3, 2013
24
2
How do you newbies keep finding these old threads?
Google, search :D

It is the physical size that matters, and as of the time the article you linked to, only 500 GB were the correct physical size.

If you have a Non-Unibody MacBook Pro, the maximum height of a 2.5" HDD/SSD is 9.5 mm for 15" MBPs and 12.5 mm for 17" MBPs.
thanks much for your quick answer, so this would be ?
http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Momentus-2-5-Inch-Internal-Notebook/dp/B007PG25UU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357283368&sr=8-1&keywords=Seagate+Momentus+Laptop+HDD+1+TB+SATA-300

? 9.5 or 12.5 ?