Best way to transfer my faulty iMac's contents to the replacement?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by hallaisen, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. hallaisen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #1
    I bought a 27" i5 with some major fan problems, but I could not return it the first two weeks after I bought it due to living far away from an Apple Store. So I put on my noise-cancelling earphones and tried to drown the fan noise with some music, and have been using the iMac while waiting for the day to return it to come. Tomorrow is that day, but since I've installed all the programs I want, and pretty much set it up exactly the way I want my new iMac to be, I'm looking to clone or transfer my HD so that I don't have to go through the same process when I get the new one.

    Is Time Machine and Migration Assistant the best way to do this? I have a 250gb external USB hd, but my iMac hd is 1tb (only filled it up with 40-50gb of content so far). Will it still work? My external hd does not need to be big enough to cover all the empty space on the internal hd? I have also ordered an SSD hd for my MBP, and want to do the same thing when that arrives. Time Machine and Migration Assistant in this case too? I have never used either before, so am just looking for some advice as I do not want anything to go wrong. Thanks for any help or tips!
     
  2. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    Migration Assistant worked great for me when I moved from my Mac Mini to my iMac
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Time Machine and Migration Assistant is the easiest way to do it. It can't transfer something that doesn't exist, so it'll only transfer those 40-50GB.
     
  4. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #4
    That's fine -- you don't need room for the empty space.

    Plug the external into your mac and follow the instructions for time machine setup. If it doesn't ask you straight away if you want to use the external for a time machine backup, go to "System Preferences" --> "Time Machine" --> "Select Disk..."
     
  5. hallaisen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    #5
    Amazing, thanks for the quick replies guys. I'm now all set to replace it..just hoping they have it in stock still hehe!
     

Share This Page