Blackberry (BES) data plan on iPhone, conflict?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Neebee, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. Neebee macrumors 6502a

    #1
    I currently have a Blackberry data plan and I have had my iPhone 5 for almost 2 years now.

    I have become more aware of some LTE, 3G issues with my iPhone 5 recently.

    When I enable AIRPLANE mode, and disable it after about 60+ seconds, it takes a minimum of 30 seconds for LTE to show up in a good coverage area. My average response is about 90 seconds.

    I had my iPhone swapped recently under Apple Care. In the store, only my basic settings were installed via iCloud. I have a regular back up on my PC. Toggling LTE was super snappy. One of the dudes at the Apple store on the same carrier as myself, but with an iPhone 5S had almost instant results as well.

    Upon return home from the Apple store, I toggled the LTE on and off, with AIRPLANE mode on and off. Things were snappy. I was happy.

    When I went to RESTORE my backup, after completion, I noticed my email and other passwords werent downloaded. In the past, any time I did a RESTORE, I never had that issue. Everything was as it was before. All p/ws in tact. I didn't have to enter any.

    I then wiped my iPhone again using ERASE ALL SETTINGS. I then repeated the RESTORE process. During the last RESTORE process, my iPhone was caught in a BOOT LOOP. It finally got out of it after several minutes. I then repeated and the backup RESTORE worked. However, I lost the immediate connection to LTE.

    I did a DFU Recovery via iTunes (not the actual DFU where I need the PSW files) and I then ran the device stock. The LTE lagging once again occurred, but not like on my previous device.

    I am not sure what is going on here. But, I find it damn peculiar this happened again. If there is problem with my iTunes backup, it should've been resolved with the DFU recovery.

    I guess I will have to go back to Apple and ask them to do a full DFU flash on my device and see what happens then.

    I am also thinking if my [Rogers] BlackBerry Data plan might be contributing or causing this issue? Maybe, just maybe, my iPhone is connecting to Rogers, looking for the Blackberry (BES) server and then when it can't find it, it defaults to standard data? I mean, there must be a logical explanation for this, right?

    I always wanted my BB data plan to be removed and go with the regular data plan but I was told that wasn't necessary. The regular BB plan will work just fine.

    Has anyone heard of this issue before?
     
  2. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #2
    This has nothing to do with the bb data plan, the plan is available so they can charge appropriately.
     
  3. Neebee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    #3
    Not exactly true.

    After spending quite some time on the phone with Rogers, there are some differences between the two. With a Blackberry plan, there is the BB APN, there is BES (Blackberry Enterprise Server) and maybe some other differences.

    The $30/6GB data plan I currently have is no longer available...mine is grandfathered. Removing the BB plan would mess things up on my account.

    It is in fact conceivable that my BB Data plan is in fact causing the latency or delay in acquiring an LTE signal upon start-up and after disabling LTE and enabling Airplane mode.
     
  4. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #4
    Sounds like you need advice from a fellow Canadian. I'm pretty sure American carriers don't have those kinds of plans (and thus any related issues) anymore. Unless you've been grandfathered and haven't upgraded your BB in about 5+ years. Most smartphones of any kind these days are on a shared data plan that shares an alotted amount among all lines on the plan. Not sure about Europe or Asia.
     
  5. kerrikins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #5
    I would try doing the process over again when you have access to wifi and then see how your internet works going forward. I've had a buggy experience in the past with iCloud and I'm not on the BES plan. It's worth a try at least to avoid losing your 6gb plan as it is not available anymore.

    (Canadian and with Rogers, btw.)
     
  6. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #6
    My iPhone on VZW is on a BES plan, there is absolutely no impact on phone service. This is due to the BES info is on the phone, not on any carrier server.
     
  7. iBanker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Location:
    46th floor
    #7
    I used my iPhone with a BB data plan for a while and had no issues. Sounds like something in your restore may be corrupted.
     
  8. Neebee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    #8
    I came back from Apple. They did a fresh DFU install from their MAC computer. The device was set up brand new....I used one of my other iTune Accounts that I rarely use to ensure there was nothing on iCloud.

    Sadly, instore the results were the same. After the phone was set up, it took over 120 seconds to get a 3G signal. From then, it took about another 70 seconds to get LTE (where it was almost instant on the iPhone 5s in store).

    I then toggled AIRPLANE mode on and off instore. It took about 33 seconds to acquire LTE.

    In summary, the issue is still here. I bet it has to do with the BB data plan. I had asked my carrier, Rogers if they can escalate my issue and see if on the backend they can convert my BB $30/6 GB data plan to the $30/6GB plan. As another option, they can add me onto the new "special" 6GB/$35 plan. However, despite this LTE issue being annoying, it's not worth an extra $60 a year especially since there is no guarantees the issue will be fixed. Next year, when my contract is up, I will explore other options if this issue isn't resolved. I'll get the iPhone 6S at that time as well.
     
  9. iBanker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Location:
    46th floor
    #9
    Rogers converted me to regular 6GB plan from BES last December with no issue. Not sure why they wouldn't be able to do the same in your case.
     
  10. Neebee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    #10
    I think in part the reason is that as of August 1, the $30/ 6GB plan is now $35. Retentions said he could convert me to the $35/6GB plan Smartphone plan from BES but he said is it worth the chance and the cost that it won't resolve my issue.
     

Share This Page