Blocked iPhone (iPod?)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Abiyork, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Abiyork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,

    Got a replacement iPhone 4 from my insurance a couple of weeks ago and have typically found my original.

    It's obviously blocked but seems to work ok as an iPod. Thinking of changing the music on it and giving it to my nephew but would linking it up to iTunes trigger something and turn it into an expensive brick?

    Cheers for any info
     
  2. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #2
    It shouldn't, but you might want to give them your insurance a call to say that you found it, but will be relegating it to other duties.
     
  3. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #3
    If the insurance paid out for a new phone, you should definitely inform them that you've found the old one as they could claim legal ownership of it. Keeping it could be deemed to be insurance fraud so it's best to be up front with them...
     
  4. Abiyork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #4
    Cheers for replies. I'd actually spoken to them and once they'd confirmed it was correctly blocked and void of a working IMEI number they weren't bothered.

    Just didnt want iTunes to brick it.
     
  5. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #5
    maybe if there not bothered by it they can have it unblocked for you as well. Then you can give him a working iPhone.
     
  6. Abiyork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #6
    How is that possible? I'd imagine you'd need some special kit?
     
  7. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #7
    It's blocked at the UK level. It won't work in the UK once it's blocked.
     
  8. Abiyork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #8
    That's what I though but the comment earlier made is look like you maybe could. Will stick with using it as an iPod
     
  9. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #9
    An ok, it's a bit more than a paperweight... It has GPS and can be used for a bit more other than an iPod Touch
     
  10. Abiyork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #10
    Apart from the GPS it will be identical won't it? And unless you can use the GPS with 3G etc then surely it's useless
     
  11. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #11
    Yep, it just won't connect to a UK network, that's all. It can't be used as a raw phone, as per se.
     

Share This Page