Boost Mobile iPhone 6 on ATT

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by brianb773, Nov 2, 2014.

  1. brianb773 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    #1
    I have a boost mobile iPhone 6, how can I get it to work on ATT?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    You can't.

    Boost is an MVNO (Mobile Virtual Network Operator) that uses Sprint's network. Your phone will be locked to Boost (Sprint) and since Sprint never unlocks for domestic use, Boost won't be able to unlock it for you.
     
  3. brianb773 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    #3
    But can't i unlock it myself without contacting any network
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Oh sure. All you need to do is access Apple's unlock database and submit the IMEI/MEID of the phone, making sure to avoid the lockout from the database that Sprint has by agreement with Apple. Easy.

    If you don't have access to the databse, well…then the answer is the same.

    International unlock only is available. I would assume you'd need to call Boost.

    Domestic unlock - not possible.

    I have no idea what you thought you'd be able to do to unlock the phone yourself. If it were that easy then the process would have been out there by now.
     
  5. 11bE5 macrumors 6502

    11bE5

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Spokane Wa
    #5
    Wow love how sarcasm is a way to answer a question good job
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    I gave the OP his answer in post 2. Not possible.

    OP then asks how can he unlock it himself, thus totally ignoring the answer.

    And I'm being taken to task for sarcasm?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    No you cannot.
    And they will not unlock it even if you contact them.
    Its locked.
     
  8. brianb773 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    #8
    I appreciate the sarcasm, but the only reason I ask..


    http://www.12newsnow.com/story/27177194/official-factory-unlock-for-iphone-6-plus-6-5s-5c-5-on-att-t-mobile-verizon-o2-orange-and-more-no-jailbreak-required
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Go for it then.
    Send them your money and see how far you get.
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
  11. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #11

    I wonder how many suckers...I mean, um, customers...they've found at that price?

    Even if it's legit--which I really, really doubt--I'd bet it's faster and less expensive to just sell off the current phone & buy a new unlocked TMobile version at that price. Yow.
     
  12. 11bE5 macrumors 6502

    11bE5

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Spokane Wa
    #12

    Yes it is
     
  13. brianb773 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      412.5 KB
      Views:
      55
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.

Share This Page