Bought SL the day it came out, still sitting on my desk...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by vader1990, Oct 3, 2009.

1. vader1990 macrumors regular

So, as my title says, I bought SL the day it came out, but its still sitting on my desk, b/c I keep hearing stories from my friends on this board that SL is Apple's "vista" and it breaks everything and its just horrible. One of my friends couldn't use CS4, a bunch of them tell me MS 08 is mad slow, and for one of them Airport is broken.

So I have time to kill this weekend, so do you guys think its finally "safe" to take the plunge and upgrade? I use multiclutch HEAVILY in Safari, so do you think this will be a problem for me to adjust to? I dont mind changing to 32-bit on Safari, but it will suck if it impacts speed by a ton?!

So can you guys give me some good reasons to upgrade?

I'm an Engineering college student, so I basically just use programming, matlab, a LOT of HD movie watching programs :D Like I watch A LOT of HD stuff, while I have like MATLAB open and Safari with 6 tabs open and like excel and word, haha. I also hate slow downs!

I have a 2.4ghz, 2gb ram, 250 hd, unibody macbook pro from october 08

Thanks guys!!

2. atheros07 macrumors member

Go ahead and upgrade--- SL is working just fine for me on my 2.4 unibody Macbook Pro. I was also put off by the comments on this board but I finally went ahead and did a wipe and clean install of SL last night. Safari is noticeably speedier, and MS Office 08 launches as fast if not faster than in Leopard. Most other apps also launch a tiny bit quicker. No stability issues or unexpected beachballing so far.

My system does run a *little bit* warmer in SL, I'd say about 4 degrees C more. Right now it's idling at 47 degrees C with the Nvidia 9400 on and just Safari and Mail running.

I suggest doing a wipe and clean install if you want to play it safe, and it's nice to have a fresh new computer and OS.

3. pdjudd macrumors 601