Brand new 17" unibody with a cycle count of 8?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gunmetalgrey, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. gunmetalgrey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #1
    Pulled the trigger this evening and picked up a 17" 2.66Ghz matte from the apple store. Going through the battery calibration as I type, and I'm noticing that the cycle count is 8. Is this normal? or did I get a returned/refurbed unit? Packaging wise the box looked new and sealed up with tape. Apart from that, I'm really enjoying the new machine!
     
  2. assassinm4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    manufacturer always run a few battery test before letting it go- just enjoy your new toy:D!
     
  3. gunmetalgrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    Thanks :) I figured that could have been what happened. Upgrading from my ancient 17" Dell Inspiron 9400, I can't believe how cool this thing runs. Now to just try and get hold of a drive upgrade!
     
  4. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #4
    actually 8 is not normal. i've had alot of apple notebooks and the cycle count never reached 2-3 when i opened it the first time. but don't worry though. it doesn't matter.
     
  5. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #5
    But 8? Mine only had one when I first checked it, and that was a day after I first used it.
     
  6. gunmetalgrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    Yeah the 8 does seem a little high now... but apart from that I can't fault anything else with the laptop so I'm totally happy with the purchase.
     
  7. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #7
    maybe his machine has a little more problems than any other so they had to use the battery a little while. LOL. knock on wood...
     
  8. gunmetalgrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    Lol.. knock on a BIG piece of wood :)
     
  9. apersianboyCOM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    I would get it replaced!
    I had to get 3 replacements on mine because of various issue and all of them didn't even have 1 cycle on them.
     
  10. erratikmind macrumors 6502a

    erratikmind

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    S.F./Las Vegas
    #10
    First, congrats to you on your new laptop.

    Hmmm . . . 8 battery cycles for a new laptop does seem a bit high. You may wish to make an inquiry. However, if everything is running well, you should simply enjoy your new MBP. Enjoy!
     
  11. Kronie macrumors 6502a

    Kronie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #11
    Not for me. My replacement UMBP had 0 cycles. My first one had 3.
     
  12. Warranty Voider macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Maine, US
    #12
    Are you serious? Just because all of your batteries needed to be replaced and all of them didn't even have 1 cycle doesn't mean that there's a trend. Mine came with 5 cycles, but really who cares. If there's a problem, then you can get it fixed in the future. Just because your batter has gone through a couple cycles doesn't mean its a defective batter. As I've said in other threads, I would actually be glad that my battery came with a couple cycles. It probably means that they used your machine as the test machine out of the batch. Thats a good thing because it means that it passed the test.

    to OP: Don't worry about it. An extra 8 cycles won't do it any harm.
     
  13. emotta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #13
    I had 6 when i first opened the box. Mine is flawless and it actually stays at about 131,000 mah.
     
  14. kimnkk macrumors member

    kimnkk

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Me!bourne, Australia
    #14
    Both of my uMBP and my mate's uMBP came with 0 cycles from new. I've always assumed they should come with 0 cycles on them.
     

Share This Page