Brand new Macbook Pro overheating?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tangerinefight, Jun 27, 2011.

1. tangerinefight macrumors newbie

I got this mac in January I believe, and have had no problems with it until the last couple of weeks. (I provided a link instead of just stating the specs because I'm still new to Macs and have no idea what would be considered useful info in this situation)

Anyway, whenever it's plugged in it starts to overheat and the fan goes like crazy. The bottom gets hot enough that I can touch it or keep it on my lap if I really want to, but it's extremely uncomfortable to the touch (I've seen other members post specific temperatures on here but I have no idea how to measure that). I don't play any games and only occasionally watch videos, and as I mentioned it's only a few months old, so I can't imagine what is causing it to do this.

The one thing that came to mind was, I have a cat who sheds a LOT, perhaps there's hair caught in the fan? I don't know if I'm comfortable taking the computer apart to clean the fan, though. I'm not confident that I'd be able to get it back together... is that likely, though? Or is there something else I should look into?

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Your Mac is not overheating. The Intel processors used in Macs are designed to automatically shut down to prevent damage if they truly overheat (around 100C/212F - 105C/221F, depending on your processor). iStat Pro will give you accurate readings of your temps, among other things.