Brand New MBP 15" HR/AG 500GB 7200rpm, read this

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by milan03, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. milan03 macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Just got a brand new i7 15" mbp Hi-res AG with 500GB 7200rpm drive.
    Purposely bought 7200rpm since i need extra speed. Well, I don't know if you guys remembered about a year ago hell broke loose when pro customers bought their shiny new unibody models with 7200rpm or SSD's and realized that their Sata speed in their $2,000+ laptops IS CAPPED AT 1.5mbps!!!!!!! Or old sata I speeds.
    Well that's exactly whats happening in my case. I thought we are over it but I guess it's still a huge problem...
    WHAT'S THE POINT OF SHELLING OUT EXTRA $$$ FOR 7200RPM OR SSD IF THEY THROTTLE YOUR SATA BUS SPEED?!

    Can anyone please explain this and possibly point me to the solution.

    Thank you and sorry for screaming, i just got it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The laptop supports 3 Gb. The drive seemingly doesn't, thus the "negotiated link speed". Also with a HDD there is really no need for 3Gb. Only an SSD will ever use all 3Gb, speed wise.
     
  3. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    This drive is a Sata II drive, therefore it caps at 3.0Gbps. It's in drive's specs. 7200rpm drive can't cap the logicboards bus speed. It's the EFI firmware that caps it.

    this is what apple released last year http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3561

    I thought they've fixed this. Can anyone with SSD drive or aftermarket HDD post their screenshot of SATA settings in system profiler.

    Thank you!
     
  4. dbasco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #4
    I just installed a Seagate 500GB Momentus XT Hybrid 7.200

    I do not know what your problem is... but I just upgraded my UMBP 13" Mid 2010 with a 7.200 RPM Hybrid Seagate 500GB Momentus XT... and I'm showing the full 3GB... as you can see in my screen capture...(although in Spanish I'm sure you can understand it)...

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Are you not reading the "Link Speed: 3 Gigabit" part of your screen shot? That means that the laptop can operate at that speed. IF the drive needs those speeds. A 7,200 RPM drive or any other hard disk drive will never reach those speeds (except those 10,000RPM WD Raptor drives). Thus, the computer is limiting the speed to 1.5Gb. Nothing is wrong with it.
     
  6. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #6
    I literarily just received the package, did CTO and ordered 7200rpm drive... it took them a week to configure it and ship from China. And this is what I got?!
    WTF?!!!
     
  7. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Apple uses it's own harddrive firmware and capping it to sata I, for sata II you need the original harddrive firmware.
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    The link speed is 3Gbps, therefore the machine is capable.

    The drive is telling the machine to use 1.5Gbps.

    Don't know why, but it is not the same as the problem from a few years ago.
     
  9. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    Ok that makes sense. Does anyone know if they cap their SSD's as well lol?
    I wanted to get OWC SSD but it would totally BLOW if the bus was capped at 1.5Gbps as well.
    Oh just keep stressing :(
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Do you have a link to prove this? I've never heard this anywhere before.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    I too find that very hard to believe. I do know Apple did this in the mid-90's but not to cap the drive speeds.
     
  12. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    The firmware is apple branded and tailored if you open it up, one effect is that harddrive firmware updates is just effecting oem discs.
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    The sticker on the drive is the only Apple branded thing about it.

    OEM stock (Apple) drives and retail (Best Buy) drives have the same firmware revision, if they where made with in a similar time frame that is.
     
  14. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    That doesn't prove anything.

    Post a link about the firmware limiting the speed, please.
     
  15. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    You are not being ripped off. Remember no hard disk drive will ever need 3Gb. They rarely if ever use the full 1.5Gb.
     
  17. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #17
    | | | | +-o AppleAHCIDiskDriver <class AppleAHCIDiskDriver, registered, matched, active, busy 0, retain 6>
    | | | | | {
    | | | | | "Model" = "Hitachi HTS545050B9SA02 "
    | | | | | "Revision" = "PB4AC60Q"
    | | | | | "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.iokit.IOAHCIBlockStorage"
    | | | | | "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"
    | | | | | "Queue Depth" = 32
    | | | | | "IOMaximumBlockCountRead" = 65536
    | | | | | "IOProviderClass" = "IOAHCIDevice"
    | | | | | "Physical Block Size" = 512
    | | | | | "IOMaximumBlockCountWrite" = 65536
    | | | | | "IOPolledInterface" = "not serializable"
    | | | | | "IOClass" = "AppleAHCIDiskDriver"
    | | | | | "SATA Features" = 15
    | | | | | "NCQ" = Yes
     
  18. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
  19. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    I see nothing in there about Apple hard drive firmware. All I see are Apple disk drivers that are a part of Mac OS X.

    EDIT: Here's mine from a retail drive:
    Code:
    +-o AppleAHCIDiskDriver  <class AppleAHCIDiskDriver, registered, matched, active, busy 0, retain 8>
        | |   |         | {
        | |   |         |   "IOProbeScore" = 0
        | |   |         |   "Logical Block Size" = 512
        | |   |         |   "Model" = "ST9500420AS                             "
        | |   |         |   "Revision" = "0002SDM1"
        | |   |         |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.iokit.IOAHCIBlockStorage"
        | |   |         |   "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"
        | |   |         |   "Queue Depth" = 32
        | |   |         |   "IOMaximumBlockCountRead" = 65536
        | |   |         |   "IOProviderClass" = "IOAHCIDevice"
        | |   |         |   "Physical Block Size" = 512
        | |   |         |   "IOMaximumBlockCountWrite" = 65536
        | |   |         |   "IOPolledInterface" = "not serializable"
        | |   |         |   "IOClass" = "AppleAHCIDiskDriver"
        | |   |         |   "SATA Features" = 15
        | |   |         |   "NCQ" = Yes
        | |   |         |   "Serial Number" = "XXXXXXXXXXXXXX"
        | |   |         | }
    
     
  20. macagain macrumors regular

    macagain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    #20
    Perhaps you should just return it and get yourself a Dell.
     
  21. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #21
    Hey buddy, I've been owning macs since 1993, so calm yourself down and thanks for your input.
     
  22. paintballswimgu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #22
    specs for the new 15 in i5 with aftermarkate drive:

    Intel 5 Series Chipset:

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: 5 Series Chipset
    Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported

    ST9500420AS:

    Capacity: 500.11 GB (500,107,862,016 bytes)
    Model: ST9500420AS
    Revision: 0002SDM1
    Serial Number: 5VJ0F9L0
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Rotational Rate: 7200
    Medium Type: Rotational
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    Hillsdale:
    Capacity: 499.76 GB (499,763,888,128 bytes)
    Available: 11.57 GB (11,571,978,240 bytes)
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s2
    Mount Point: /
     
  23. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #23
    wow. a most impressive fail by the OP if i've ever seen one.
     
  24. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #24
    Wow? That's impressive indeed.
     

Share This Page