Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Luigi239

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 25, 2007
I'm going to be buying my first car within the next three months. The budget is $7,000, but if needed, it probably could be pushed to $8,000. That being said, I want a small car, and my top choice would be a Honda Civic.

To anybody who has a Civic, how do you like it? I'm assuming they are incredibly reliable, as my mom has had an Accord for 4 years or so and has never had to bring it into the shop. Insurance wise, what is it like? I am a first time driver in NC, so I know that insurance for me at least will not be cheap. Also, I found a nice 2 door Civic with a low mileage. Is insurance going to be substantially more than a 4 door?

Also, what other cars would be recommended that are comparable to the Civic? I started looking at a 2005 Ford Focus, but the safety ratings (especially the side impact) really turned me away. Lastly, how many miles is too many? I'm trying to keep below 100,000, but should I go lower?

Thanks, I know that was a lot of questions.

rowsdower

macrumors 6502
Jun 2, 2009
Insurance wise, what is it like? I am a first time driver in NC, so I know that insurance for me at least will not be cheap. Also, I found a nice 2 door Civic with a low mileage. Is insurance going to be substantially more than a 4 door?

I can't help you much with the Civic specific stuff, but I would recommend making an appointment with an insurance agent and getting specific quotes for the cars you are looking at. If your mom likes the agent she has, go with that one. Otherwise ask around or search online. If you go before you buy, you will know exactly how much it will cost and if you don't like the agent there is a lot less pressure to commit, since you don't actually have the car yet.

heehee

macrumors 68020
Jul 31, 2006
Same country as Santa Claus