Buying a DSLR, is this 20D as good a deal as I think it is?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kuebby, Apr 23, 2008.

1. kuebby macrumors 68000

kuebby

Ok, so I'd like to get into digital photography as a hobby and I've been shopping around lately and I just stumbled across a package on CL that I think might be perfect but I'd just like to get some other opinions, since I'm not really an expert on DSLRs.

I had been looking at a Canon XT or XTi because they were the cheapest Canons and my parents already have some Canon lenses but the package I found is a 20D which seems to be at least as good as the XT, even if it is a little heavier and larger.

I've emailed the seller asking for a couple more pictures but I haven't heard back yet (just sent).

Here's the package. All this for $700:
    -20D body
    -Canon 17-85 IS Lens
    -Canon 70-200 f/4 Lens (L series)
    -battery grip (BG-E2)
    -eye piece extender (EP-EX15)
    -non Canon extra battery
    -lens hood for 17-85
    -Canon 580 EX flash
    -Vivitar 283 flash with large battery supply
    -various lens filters
    -Pocket wizard cords: 580EX to receiver, and Pocket wizard to Vivitar 283
    -Pocket wizard plus II
    -hand strap, neck strap, camera bag

So what do you guys think?

2. bennyboi macrumors regular

bennyboi

wow.

tread carefully. seems like a great deal. demand to test it and accessories.

don't send a money order without having product.

Good luck

3. blade1139 macrumors newbie

Probably not......

Sorry to burst the bubble but I would say no.....even if all this stuff if used the math doesn't add up......
    EOS 20D......used is still at least $500.
    70-200 f/4L.......new is at least $575, used maybe drop $50 or at best $75.
    Then the rest of the acccesories probably $200, just the speedlight is at least $100.