Buying my Mac Pro on Monday! Should I pick Quad 2.93 or Octa 2.26?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MasterM6, Mar 28, 2009.

1. MasterM6 macrumors member

I am in the decision making for my new mac pro and I am trying to decide which one is right for me and my needs. These last few weeks I have been reading and trying to decide which Mac Pro I should buy.

I have come so far that I am going to buy a Octa 2.26 or a Quad 2.93. But we are talking about allot of money so what I want to get out of this purchase is a reliable model that will last me 4-5 years from now.

Today I am sitting on a PowerMac Dual G5 2.5 and it is just too slow for me. I am the kind of person that gets irritated if something takes too long once I have pushed the button! I am a hobby photographer and programmer.

I work in the following programs:
    PS
    Flash
    Illustrator
    Lightroom
    Xcode
    (Low level programing C)

I have been thinking allot about the future and how I think the software will be developed and from that perspective been trying to decide if I need 8 cores or if I will be fine with 4 cores. This last few weeks I have been thinking about how I use my PowerMac and how many programs I am running at any given time. This just to try and sort out what kind of user I am. When I am working ”hard” the most programs that I use at the same time are PS, Flash,Illustrator, Lightroom, Itunes, Firefox, Thunderbird and VLC.

Here is a small list I have compiled of pros and cones:

Pros:
    8 Cores.
    Can take up to 32Gb RAM.
    Cons:
    ”Only” 2,26 Ghz.
    Is about 100€ more expensive.
    Is slower in singlethreading.
    Can only handle 1067Mhz RAM.

Pros:
    Speed at 2.93Ghz.
    Is about 100€ cheaper.
    Gives more speed under the mouse.
    Might be able to use 1333Mhz RAM when I upgrade from 6Gb.
    Cons:
    Can only take 16Gb RAM.
    Is slower in multithreading.