Call me old school, but I want my music files in folders, that I can organize, without iTunes

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by theLemur, Jul 14, 2015.

1. theLemur macrumors regular

I'm a pretty tech savvy person, but still, after all these years, I just don't "get" iTunes.

I want to be able to plug my phone into the computer, see it's drive contents, and drag and drop my music folders to a place of my choosing, and then open up a music player of a my choosing to play it.

I have a 100GB music and audio book library. I use a 64GB Macbook Air. I can't just load everyone on the computer and add it to some iTunes 'library' and then sync it with my phone. I need to selectively pick which folders I want.

Every time I try to put music on a phone it turns into some big sync/library/organizational duplicate files nightmare.

I just want to go back to basics. View all files and folders on the phone, pick a place that I like, move my files there, and be done.

Is this possible?

2. Eau Rouge macrumors regular

Manually manage your music and media? It's not exactly drag and drop from the finder but you have granular control down to the file level over what you want on the device. There's no syncing involved so you can purge stuff that's already on your iOS device from the Macbook to make way for more media. A bit piecemeal and not totally elegant but it will accomplish what you want.

3. theLemur thread starter macrumors regular

I would expect to see my phone mounted as a drive in finder, but I do not. Is there a way to do that?

4. Eau Rouge macrumors regular

There are applications that can do that. iexplore, I think but have never bothered trying it. You can probably use that to transfer music as well.

5. theLemur thread starter macrumors regular