Calling all individuals who make a lot of money - please share your success stories.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Kendo, Nov 16, 2011.

1. Kendo macrumors 68000

Before we begin, please note that the purpose of this thread is NOT for braggarts or for those who do not make a decent income to feel down. The purpose of this thread is to LEARN from those who are successful. I know it is in human nature to feel jealous of those who are better off, but I actually find it uplifting and motivating to hear the actual journey of how one became successful because I'm so desperate to attain success myself.

I'm relatively young and have only been working for 5 years. I make what one would consider average income in the US (over $50,000 USD but less than $75,000). In all honesty, I don't see myself EVER breaking six figures at my current rate due to the nature of my work. I work as an analyst for a financial company but the ceiling for me would probably be a supervisor in my department which isn't exactly my dream job.

To those that are well off, did you just kind of "fall into" your current job? Or did you know from an early start what you wanted to do and pursued it? What were the steps that you took to make that giant leap financially? Did you switch companies? Just work hard? Play the corporate politics game? Go back to school and get a more advanced degree?

You don't have to be specific on how much you make or what you do. I'm more curious about the actual journey from when you had nothing to having almost anything.

2. simply amazing macrumors member

subscribing to this.. me being a graphic designer kind of speaks for itself as far as salary goes :(

3. GroundLoop macrumors 68000

GroundLoop