Can’t decide which Mac would be best for me

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Steelkat, Sep 21, 2007.

1. Steelkat macrumors newbie

I keep going back and forth on what would be the best route for me to take given my situation, so I would appreciate any advice from you nice folks. I am an audio engineer, musician, and record producer who operates a studio by day, and who also does web design at home at night for fun and frustration. The recording studio is three miles from my home. I carry one of my studio computers back and forth every day, and use it at home at night for my web design work . The computer I am currently using for this is a MDD G4 dual 1.25. It is getting a little long-in-the-tooth for my audio needs, but it is adequate as a web design computer, at least for me. It is something of a pain to carry back and forth as you can imagine, but I really like having everything on the one box (websites, audio drives, invoicing and business records, etc.).

So I have naturally been thinking about a MacBook Pro, now that these laptops have become powerful enough to handle fairly demanding digital audio requirements. And I am sure I would appreciate the performance gains for web design work as well. But as I run through the various scenarios trying to evaluate how a Mac Book Pro would work for me, I keep running into stumbling blocks and “gotchas”. Some are software-related (upgrade costs for UB versions, etc.). But most of these roadblocks are related to the area of expandability that I have grown accustomed to with my various Power Macs over the years.