Can´t boot from CD - need help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mac Husky, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. Mac Husky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #1
    Hey guys!

    Wanted to add my new RAM and test it with memtest86+. Tried testing it with the old RAM before. Burned an Image on CD and wanted to boot from it BUT it didn´t work. I hold c, or option when it starts up. No booting and no CD shown. I am no longer given the option to startup from any other disk other than my internal hard drives.

    Is this due to Lion? I cannot believe that.

    Need some help, please.
     
  2. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    Boot in Lion to your HDD.

    Mount the disc.

    Open System Preferences Start Up Disk.

    See if the disc is actually bootable.

    Do you have any other bootable Hard Disk or Partition? You should be able to see them there if they can boot your Mac.

    ----------

    Also there are other ways to test the RAM.
    Apple Hardware Test is one of them.
    Try to keep it simple.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  4. Mac Husky thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #4
    CD is not shown to be selected as a start volume.

    And yes, there are some more drives listed as possible start volumes.

    Burned the CD via burn folder -> burn on CD. Should I try another way?!

    ----------

    Maybe someone can try to burn a bootable CD - Memtest86+
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Yes, as you probably just burned the .iso file as file, but the .iso file is the actual image of the CD, thus you need Disk Utility or Burn to make a CD out of it.
    How to burn an .iso or .dmg file to disc

    Step 7 and onwards: How To Make Copies of DVDs
     
  6. Mac Husky thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #6
    OK. I will try.

    ----------

    Edit:
    Made my day - I thank you so much.
    It was the way of burning the iso on CD.

    Grettings from Bavaria, Germany.
     
  7. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #7
    I downloaded the .iso image, and it doesn't look like a bootable disc.
    Opened Disk Utility and even tried changing the Disk Image to DVD/Master.

    I am not familiar with memtest86, have you used it before on a Mac?
     
  8. Mac Husky thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #8
    No, I have not, but I found that memtest86 has been patched for Intel Macs with Version 2.01. Found that info and finally loaded the version that now works here. Using the 4.20, second download from the top.
     
  9. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #9
    I used Virtual Box with Windows XP and loaded the .iso Image and it works for the Windows/PC based. Rebooted and it is running the RAM test of the Virtual Machine.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Mac Husky, Dec 26, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011

    Mac Husky thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #10
    It is still running here - for 150 minutes allready.
    Memtest86+ says ECC off.

    Does that mean, ECC is not active?
    What is built in ECC RAM than good for :confused:


    Edit: I couldn´t end memtest86+ or reboot by pressing ´esc´.
    Everything else was fine so far.
     

Share This Page