Can 1 install of Vista be used by both Boot Camp and Parallels or Fusion

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Scottsdale, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #1
    I asked this question the other day, but apparently not precise enough.

    I do NOT want to "convert" my Boot Camp installation to a virtual one. I want to know if ONE installation in Boot Camp can be CONTINUED to be used by booting via Boot Camp, while also when I am using OS X, log into it virtually?

    So, I do not want to convert it over and lose the capability to log in via boot camp. A couple of days per month I need to primarily use Windows for a client. Those days I want to login to Boot Camp and use Windows. On the other days, I want to be able to use Windows via virtual access. As I may need to randomly access a Windows program but will use OS X Leopard the vast majority of work days.

    Can I do this? Or, do I need two separate Windows installations, one in boot camp partition and one in virtual partition? Also, same thing for Office Pro 2007 in Windows??? Reinstall for both partitions required? Allowed? Possible? Do I need separate Windows keys and licenses?

    Thanks for all assistance. I am trying to ensure best of both worlds here. As I am fortunate enough to use Leopard 28 days of the month and need Windows only a couple of days. But, would like flexibility to use Windows either via Boot Camp or via Virtual installation from Leopard.

    Happy Holidays.
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    Yes
     
  3. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #3
    I can give you a very specific and unambiguous answer.

    With VMWare Fusion, you can install Windows on a Boot Camp partition, and launch that version of Windows via Fusion. I have this setup on my iMac and I can boot my Windows setup (only one setup, mind you) either with Boot Camp or as a VM in Fusion, switch back and forth, whichever way strikes my fancy at the time.

    Hope that's the answer you're looking for!
     
  4. agentkev macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #4
    Yes.

    I installed Vista Home Premium recently. I can boot to it using Boot Camp and access it all by itself. I also have vmWare Fusion, so I can run Vista while in Leopard. I recently bought Parallels and I can run Vista using Parallels, too.

    So, one installation of Vista be used by Boot Camp AND Fusion AND Parallels. It's pretty cool.
     
  5. Scottsdale thread starter macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #5
    Now this is cool. It is amazing too. I figured I would have to two installations of it. But, if I can still use the Boot Camp installation AND yet access it via Fusion THAT would be awesome and the best of both worlds.

    Thanks for all of your taking the time. Now, should I go with the Parallels 3.0 I have (NEVER used on new MB), upgrade to 4.0 or switch to Fusion?

    I would have tried this long ago if I knew it was possible... I just assumed it would take up a bunch of HD space from my Mac partitions which I would NOT let happen.
     
  6. agentkev macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #6
    Yes, you can do what you're proposing.

    I installed Vista. I can boot to it via Boot Camp.

    I then installed vmWare Fusion. I can get to the Vista installation while running OS X. I can still reboot ONLY into Vista. Then I can boot back into OS X and get to Vista via Fusion. Installing Fusion DOES NOT destroy or wreck Boot Camp.

    I bought Parallels V4.0 and installed it. Now I can get to Vista while in OS X using either Fusion or Parallels. AND I can still boot just into Vista via Boot Camp. I can get to Vista in one of three ways: Vista alone (via Boot Camp) or Vista while in OS X via Fusion or Parallels.

    Yep, you can do what you want. You won't ruin Boot Camp.
     

Share This Page