Can 10.3.9 run on the final generation of IBooks?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cnelson, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. cnelson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    I have recently purchased a used IBook G4 1.42 Ghz to replace an older G4 Ibook I owned. My intention was to take out the new IBook's current hard drive (OS 10.4.2) and replace it with the hard drive in my previous IBook (10.3.9). When I dropped it in and tried to boot I was met with a flashing ?/Apple Face folder logo.

    I would like to stick with 10.3.9 for a while until some of third party vendors catch up with 10.5.

    So my questions are:

    #1. Is it possible to run the last generation of IBook G4 (1.42) with OS 10.3.x?

    #2. If so, should I just erase the hard drive and do a clean restart, or am I doing something else incorrectly?
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    No, the final generation of iBooks can't run Panther.
     
  3. Sherman Homan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #3
    That model shipped with 10.4.2 which means you probably can't go back to Panther.
    Edit: (iBookG4user beat me to it!)
     
  4. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #4
    Could always stick in your Panther disk and try. :p
     
  5. cnelson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #5
    Does anyone know for sure? I'm kind of surprised there isn't official Apple documentation on this...
     
  6. Sherman Homan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #6
    That is the official Apple position. Of course, there are many hacks that very motivated people have come up with. Although I don't know of one that will run Panther on your model G4.
     
  7. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    The last generation iBooks shipped with 10.4.2 and Panther was never a disk included, so it won't be able to run it.
     

Share This Page