Can a 27" iMac be used as an external monitor for a 13" MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by doxavita, May 23, 2011.

  1. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #1
    If I buy a Mini DisplayPort to Mini DisplayPort cable, can I plug my 13" MacBook Pro to my 27" iMac and use the iMac like an external monitor? (similar to buying a LED Cinema Display...) If so, how would it work? (I would like to send my Windows 7 VM(Parallels) to it..
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Depends on the model. The 2011 iMacs require a TBolt equipped source.
     
  3. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Is your iMac the new 2011 model? If so then only if your 13" MBP is also the 2011 model. Otherwise, yes.
     
  4. Repo macrumors 6502a

    Repo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #4
    If you have a spring 2011 27" iMac (with 2 Thunderbolt ports), then you will need a Thunderbolt-equipped MBP. If not, then a MD to MD connection will put the iMac in target display mode, so you can use it as a secondary monitor.
     
  5. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #5
    Ohh no, :( , I have a 2011 27" iMac but my 13" MacBook Pro is from April 2010... Any options?
     
  6. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Wait for Thunderbolt adaptors to be released.
     
  7. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #8
    Such things will exist?!
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    Kanex is thinking about it.
     
  9. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #10
    Great! That would be my last resort.
     
  10. Lonectzn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    #11
    Just out of curiosity, why would anyone consider doing this?

    Given the iMac is far more powerful and they both run the same operating system, there doesn't appear to be much benefit. In fact, you turn a large fast computer into a slow awkward cabled affair.

    Perhaps there's something I'm missing, which is why I'm asking :)
     
  11. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #12
    Yeah, I don't understand it either. Why wouldn't the OP just run OSX on one Mac and Windows in bootcamp on the other. Unless they're sharing files, then just set the iMac up for Parallels as well.
     
  12. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #13
    I only have Parallels + Windows 7 installed in my 13" MacBook Pro, If I wanted a bigger screen when using multiple programs and docs the 27" iMac would help
     
  13. Codpeace macrumors member

    Codpeace

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    #14
    Yet. Inconceivable that an option will not arise, for a price.

    But then I am a PC guy looking to move to an iMac, so maybe I am too optimistic? Is there any reason on God's green Earth why some third party couldn't engineer this...?

    Incredibly stupid move on Apple's part to strand earlier customers. Unless they really are just that willing to leverage "fanboy/fangirl"-ness that far to force those who need this to upgrade. This is the most naked planned obsolescence ever. Quite nauseating to me... Some of the people who need this have laptops <18 months old, right?
     
  14. ZMacintosh macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #15
    i wanted to use our 2010 Mac Pro with the new iMac (instead of getting a secondary display) i have on order, but hopefully a graphics card update or kit will come out for it.
     
  15. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #16
    Why don't you just install Parallels + Windows 7 on the 27" iMac?
     
  16. ZMacintosh macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #17
    a few instances when im rendering large sessions on the system and dont want to hog up the remaining resources its nice to be able to plug in my portable to the 27" and not have to stare at 13" screen while at a desk, away from it, its fine which is why i got it but ... its a nice convenience and the ability to dock other machines to it and allowing the imac to be multipurpose is a huge plus.
    if apple took away the feature (in a way they did for non-TB macs) its kind of irritating.
     
  17. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #18
    Isn't it one license per computer? (for both Windows 7 and Parallels)

    Also, wouldn't I have activation issues?
     

Share This Page