Can a 8200m GS with 895mb of gddr2 outperform a 8600m GT with 128 mb of GDDR3?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by josueg942, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. josueg942 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #1
    Hi everyone, I,am new to this site, but I have a question.
    My macbook pro has the 8600m and my stepdads laptop has the 8200m and it seems it handles games better than my mbp.
    Usually I play battlefield 1942 and it runs kinda bad on my mbp... on my stepdads it runs really really great...
    I'm not sure that if I install windows on my mbp I'll get better results than my stepdads laptop.... maybe it's because of the O.S.
    Who knows?
    Specs are...
    120 gb 5400 rpm hard drive
    2 gig memory
    128mb 8600m gt gddr3
    intel core 2 duo 2.2 ghz
    the macbook pro santa rosa
    Thanks.:apple::)

    BTW, my mbp has all the requirements to play Battlefield 1942...
    once again, Thanks.
     
  2. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #2
    It's either a Mac port vs native Windows performance issue or something else is going on. The 8600 destroys the 8200 in raw performance.
     
  3. agwilson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #3
    What are the specs of your dad's computer? Without knowing what else to compare to it is hard to tell if there is a problem or not. When measuring performance of a game there are a lot of factors that come into play: cpu speed, ram, hard drives, os, and generally what other programs are being run at the time.
     
  4. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  5. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #5
    What are the specs of your dad's computer? Without knowing what else to compare to it is hard to tell if there is a problem or not. When measuring performance of a game there are a lot of factors that come into play: cpu speed, ram, hard drives, os, and generally what other programs are being run at the time.



    his specs are....
    160gb hard drive 7200 rpm
    2 gig of ram
    nvidia geforce 8200m gs with 895mb of gddr2 vram
    amd athlon dual-core 1.90 ghz
    windows vista home premium
    generally when i play i don't run programs...
    thanks
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    I don't think there was an 8200M GS that had 895 MB of RAM...
     
  7. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
    from that I will have to say it's the OS. The graphics card is integrated and using system ram to get up that high. But the graphics ram can only go so far and performance should take over which is where the 8600 should do okay, bu t I dunno. Prob partially due to OS and some gfx.. although vista isn't the best for gaming either.
     
  8. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #8
    I don't think there was an 8200M GS that had 895 MB of RAM..


    When I was looking at the specs I'm not sure if it said that it was an 8200m GS or GT
    But I know for sure it's a 8200m
     
  9. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #9
    I had an HP laptop that allowed up to 1GB of ram to be allocated/shared w/ GPU so this is probably the case.
     
  10. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #10
    I had an HP laptop that allowed up to 1GB of ram to be allocated/shared w/ GPU so this is probably the case.


    this is a compaq laptop.
    hp owns compaq!
     
  11. cathyy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #11
    The 8600M GT is far, far superior to the 8200M. Either BF1942 is a horrible Mac port, or you're doing something terribly wrong, or your step-father's lying to you about his card.

    The 8200M is an integrated card. It has such a huge memory pool because it shares it with the system memory.
     
  12. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Is Battlefield 1942 universal? If it's still a PPC version that explains it. Try to install Windows on your MBP and the game there, and then compare the results :)
     
  13. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #13
    ummm okay I was just saying I had an HP.. so what was the point of that?
     
  14. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #14
    I understand the whole shared memory bit, I just didn't realize it could use that much shared memory. :p
     
  15. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #15
    yeah some allow only a small amount, others don't really care haha, most of the time it can be set in bios.
     
  16. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #16
    You need to run it using the same os, same version of the game, same display resolution, same graphics settings in game to compare. Comparing different os, different versions, etc. is useless.
     
  17. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #17

    Well when I checked the installation it said PowerPC only.
    Mines is Intel...
    Maybe that explains it.
    I know BF 1942 is an old game with weak graphics and I know my macbook pro can support it because it has mid-range graphics card.
    Thanks to all of you guys's solutions..... I don't have many doubts about my Macbook Pros graphical performance!

    THANKS ALOT!!!
     
  18. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #18
    yup hope you can get it running at better performances.
     
  19. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #19

    Yes, thanks for the kindness, and take much care, my friend. :)
     
  20. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #20
    it was

    just installed vista in my mbp...
    installed full version of battlefield 1942...
    runs like a charm!!!
    on average i get like 120fps....
    runs really great
     
  21. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #21
    cool glad you got up and did something about it to check. now you can game!
     
  22. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    The 8200m will probably have a smaller Memory Bus Controller, meaning it probably cant address more than 256Mb of Ram, so having any more is a marketing gimmick.

    GDDR2 Ram is considerably Slower than GDDR3

    The 8600M GT has ALOT more Stream Processors, higher Clock Speeds, and is an overall better card.

    Your MBP is better spec'd in every way. So its either a Bad Port to OS X, or settings difference.
     
  23. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #23
    yeah def. I think he figured it out though =)
     
  24. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #24
    sure did.

    yeah i agree 8600m is a way better card.

    i installed fraps on my stepdads pc and i only get 30-40 frames per second and on my mbp i get on average 120 fps....
    the 8600m is really far superior than the 8200m haha
     
  25. josueg942 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #25
    haha yeah!
     

Share This Page