Can a Macbook that runs on 10.4 Tiger be upgraded to 10.6 Leopard?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Mlin, Sep 18, 2010.

1. Mlin macrumors newbie

Can a Macbook that runs on 10.4 Tiger be upgraded to 10.6 Leopard?

I bought a used Macbook. It has the following specs:
    MacBook 2,1
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    2.16 GHz
    4 GB Memory 667MHz

I reformated the Mac for a fresh start (20GB+ of the space were used up and the seller claimed that everthing was erased)

However, the sad news is that the discs that the seller sent me appear to be 10.5.2 Tiger. In the auction, seller claimed that the OS is upgraded to 10.4 Tiger. When I tried to install, I get the error saying that "This software cannot be installed."

So... now it looks like I will have to buy an installation disk? lol

My question is will this laptop be able to run a 10.6 Leopard (I just put this example in because it seems to be the most popular one or something. I am new to Mac.)? Or will I receive the same error for that 10.5 Tiger?

Currently, this laptop has no OS installed.

Please advise. Thank you very much in advance.

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

Yes.

Just for clarification:

10.4 = Tiger
    10.5 = Leopard
    10.6 = Snow Leopard

Just buy a Snow Leopard disk for $30 and install.

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Maximum Max OS: Latest release of Mac OS X

You can find specs on all Apple products with Mactracker.

4. AaronSC101 macrumors newbie

It sure can! I just upgraded a macbook that was running on tiger to snow leopard today for a customer

5. KingNush macrumors newbie

. .

Yea ! Go Ahead It Will Take Patience A Install Disk And The Macbook !

6. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

Yes, and with the specs on your machine it'll run very well.

7. cubeeggs macrumors member