Can a mini CD 1.83 2gig mem run vista in fusion?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by X1Lightning, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    I have a 1.83 core duo Mini with 2 gig of memory. and i have VMware Fusion,
    would i be able to run Vista in the VM? or is my machine too old?
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
  3. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #3
    all i'm going to use it for is running a database, for when i'm testing a java app i am building, client requires IBM db2, and IBM only released db2 for windows or linux. so i am stuck with running it in a vm with vista.
     
  4. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #4
    What version of linux is it release for. If you install X11 I'm sure you could get it to run in your Mac OS.

    -iGrant
     
  5. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #5
    OH Also consider VirtualBox, its an open source VM that is available for the Mac and it works really well and you don't have to pay for it :cool:.

    -iGrant
     
  6. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #6
    SUSE or Redhat

    i googled x11, but not sure how that would let work for me
     
  7. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #7
    Awsome!, i will have to try that out, i'm still running the trial of Fusion, but if virtualbox works i wont have to buy Fusion! that would be great, thanks for the info
     
  8. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #8
    X11 allows you to run linux apps in mac os x, you would also want to install macports from macports.com.

    That way you could run the software without virtualization. However VirtualBox would be the easiest solution. I have to VPN to work and the VPN is only available for Windows, so I use VirtualBox so I can work from home on my Mac.

    -iGrant
     
  9. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #9
    Vista seems a bit heavyweight to run a database - why not just install openSUSE or CentOS in Fusion?
     
  10. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #10
    I agree about Vista. Although if Windows is the only option, XP should run using less resources than Vista.
     
  11. iGrant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Ridgeway
    #11
    I agree, XP runs on VirtualBox just fine. Vista is going to be a resource hog on any setup be it VM or Boot Camp!

    -iGrant
     

Share This Page