Can a november 06 macbook (when the core 2 duos came out) support 3 gigs of ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dan7592, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. dan7592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #1
    I was wondering because I ordered 2 gigs of crucial ram (which is great service btw, they have free shipping and it is with fedex :) ). Even if it does, does it even make use out of the 3rd gig? Will 2 gigs be enough for what I want to do with it? I am upgrading from 1 gig.

    What I usually do with my macbook is go on firefox, sometimes ichat or adium, and sometimes I stream music over my network in itunes. Sometimes I also like to mess around with some of the ilife apps. I also have iwork 08 on my macbook as well.
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Yes. Understanding Intel Mac RAM - Mac Guides

    Having said that, you probably have 2X512MB. So if you remove one of those and add the 2G stick, you will have 2.5GB which will still be an improvement over the original 2X512MB.
     
  3. dan7592 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #3
    crap, I ordered 2x1gb from crucial. I might go back and buy a 2 gig stick and use one of my 1 gig sticks in my imac or something lol.
     
  4. Manderson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #4
    4gigs.... only 3.3 is recognizable. That's what I have in mine.
     
  5. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #5
    Dan, give the 2GB a try. From your description of what you do, the extra gig might not make that much difference.
     

Share This Page