Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hoosker

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 17, 2003
Hey guys I need some help. I am a network newbie.

I want to help my dad set up a home network. He has an older PowerCenter Pro running OS 8.6 and an iBook with 10.3. He wants to get DSL and share it with both computers. I assume this is posible.

I wanted to know if AirPort Express would be a cheaper alternative to an AP base station in this case. So if I understand how it would work:

Phone line into DSL modem-- line into a DSL router (or just a hub?) From router or hub a line to PowerCenter Pro for internet access. Another line from router or hub to AirPort Express. The iBook will need an AP Extreme card or would the older Airport Card work?

thanks for any advise!

LeeTom

macrumors 68000
May 31, 2004
In this case, and Airport Extreme base station would probably be the better setup than an Airport Express. It will act as the router AND the wireless access point, whereas the Airport Express will act only as an access point, and has no LAN ethernet port.

Side note: If your iBook has the older Airport card, it cannot be upgraded to have an Airport Extreme card, they are different slots.

Lee Tom

hoosker

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 17, 2003
thanks

Well after alot of thought I decided on the AP base station. Really it is because I know I will not be around to help support any issues my Dad may have (he is a new Mac user). I wanted to save him some money but in the long run I bet I won't regret it.

thanks for the advise. Now if only I could get DSL where I live!

PS. do both base stations have the USB port or only the more expensive one. He has an Epson stylus Color 740 printer that he would like to print to.

Elbeano

macrumors regular
Apr 21, 2004
PA