Can AirPort Extreme use disks with more then one partition?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by pMay, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. pMay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    #1
    Hello!

    Can the AirPort Extreme use disks with more then one partition?
    I am asking because my AirPort Extreme doesnt work with my USB Harddisk.
    It has 2 partitions. One of them is NTFS ... that could also be a reason for problems.

    Thanks,
    Philip

    Can anybody please help me?
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    [Link]
     
  3. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #3
    Been wondering this myself as we're looking for a two-Mac back-up solution. Some people are reporting it working fine with partitions and the WD MyBook drive, but it doesn't work across the board: Link.
     
  4. srexy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #4
    I've had good luck with it so far

    I've had good luck with it so far - 2 disks in one owc enclosure. One is HFS the other is partitioned w/Fat32 and HFS. I did have some problems recently when trying to install a USB 2 hub but weirdly - when I reenabled IPv6 it came back no problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. srexy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #5
    Famous last bloody words.

    Just updated to 7.1.1 and the fat32 partition is no longer available...

    &*$#!
     
  6. pMay thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    #6
    Is that a known bug?
     
  7. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #7
    I wish I could get something like AirDisk that's firewire and not USB. As a backup solution the ability to boot up off the back-up is a killer point. If only USB could do it (It can't can it?).
     
  8. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #8
    I am using Airport Extreme with a partition. It's available on the network with all of our PCs and the macs that come to visit.
     
  9. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #9
    Intel Macs can boot from USB.
     
  10. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #10
    Really? That's excellent news and if so a major boon over PPC.
     
  11. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #11
    I think they no longer boot from firewire though, not sure mind.
     

Share This Page