Can anyone confirm that power nap works on an upgraded HD->SSD MBP?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by OverSpun, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. OverSpun macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I have a late '11 MBP and I'm planning to swap to an SSD, but I'm just curious since I can't find a thread yet since its pretty early for ML. :D
     
  2. kxfrog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Power nap works on MacBook pro with retina and MacBook air 2011 and later according to apple website
     
  3. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #3
    It should, at least. It does not yet work on the retina Mbp or the 2012 Air, people are thinking we need to wait for a firmware update.
     
  4. OverSpun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #4

    Thanks.

    My question is that-

    The fact is that my late '11 has a 750gb 7200 HD and I already know that it DOESNT work with powernap, but-

    I am looking to see if anyone who has upgraded their machines and have found out that powernap actually works. I wouldn't be surprised if powernap doesnt even work if I upgrade to an SSD.

    In regardless, I already know that all the new and factory SSD machines will work with it, and I dont have one of those. ;)
     
  5. screensaver400 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    #5
    Well, no, not all the factory SSD machines do. You can get a 13" MacBook Pro with a factory SSD, and it's not supported. It looks like the feature requires one of the "blade" style SSDs, not the sort that is made to replace a 2.5" hard drive.
     
  6. OverSpun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #6
    That makes sense, thanks. Besides, I wouldnt ever upgrade to SSD just for powernap cause its not a big deal, but I was just curious. :)
     
  7. jakeruston macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Power nap won't work even if you install an SSD. The update with power nap has only been made available to machines that come with an SSD as default, ie. Macbook Pro with Retina Display and the Macbook Air.

    Even if you install an SSD you won't be offered the software update.
     
  8. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #8
    I don't even see an option for Power Nap anywhere in the system and I am running a SSD.
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    You have to have on board flash memory (MBA and rMBP). Regulard 2.5" SSDs (whether from Apple or not) will not work because the power requirements between both types of flash storage differ.
     
  10. mxrver macrumors newbie

    mxrver

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Woodstock ON/Playa del Carmen MX
    #10
    This is a helpful discussion.

    I bought a late 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with Apple 256GB SSD just a week before they abandoned this model because I was pretty sure the 17"er was a gonner.

    As I understand it, the 'Nap' app will never come my way. Not that it matters all that much to me.....
     
  11. jcpb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #11
    Interestingly, Power Nap isn't showing up at all on my MBPR.
     
  12. jakeruston macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    You need to do a software update to get the feature, then it'll show up under the "Energy Saver" option in System Preferences.

    The software update has been released for MBA, not sure about rMBP though (you may still have to wait a little while for Apple to release it).
     

Share This Page