Can I borrow someone's iPad 3G for about 2 minutes? (San Francisco/Palo Alto)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by scottlevin, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. scottlevin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #1
    Hi!

    Is anyone willing to let me use their iPad 3G for about two minutes so I can activate a microSIM I bought at the AT&T so I can get the unlimited data plan? My iPad doesn't come for another 5-10 days, so I am trying to get the unlimited plan before it disappears.

    I work in South SF and live in Palo Alto. Also willing to drive farther, but if this sounds like any of you and you are willing to help out a Mac geek, I would be so impressed.

    Thanks,
    Scott
     
  2. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #2
    Is it really that simple? I was under the impression the ipad data plan was device IMEI specific.
     
  3. scottlevin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #3
    You're right. I honestly don't know if it would work. I thought it was worth a shot though. Does anyone have any experience with this?
     
  4. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #4
    maybe the apple store would let you use their ipads to do it?
     
  5. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
  6. tomashi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #6
    im in palo alto during business hours, let me know.
     
  7. Barbie, Jun 3, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011

    Barbie macrumors regular

    Barbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    ocean
    #7
    not mine but certainly you can use one in the retail store
     
  8. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #8
    I believe it should work. The reason I say this is that I signed up for 3G service on my original iPad, which I had replaced at the genius bar a few days later due to a small display issue. All the genius did was swap the microSIM into my replacement iPad and its 3G service works fine. I suppose in theory he could have done something while processing the swap to associate the SIM with my new iPad's ID, but I don't think he did.
     

Share This Page