Can I buy and legally use a domain with the word apple in it?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bk123, Jul 12, 2011.

1. bk123 macrumors member

I dont know where to post this so it would be great if a mod can move it.

Basiclly im starting a small iPhone, Ipad repair biz.

I will buy broken ones, fix them and resell them as used online as a side business.

My question is: Am i Allowed to buy a domain with the key word apple in it..

like "xxxxxxxApple.com" and sell used iPhones without issue?

just though ppl on this fourm might know answer to this, im a college student trying to earn some $$ as side biz ;)

2. OllyW Moderator

OllyW

Staff Member

This company doesn't have a problem though I think they probably got there first in the UK.

3. bk123 thread starter macrumors member

hmm, im selling in USA.
    So im guessing I will be fine? :)
    I got a perfect domain name availablethats why im trying to keep it

4. heisenberg123, Jul 12, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 12, 2011

heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

sounds like you would be ok, google the word apple you will see many domains with the word apple in them some having nothing at all to do with the company apple

theres a company that fixes windshields on cars call apple auto glass and their domain is appleautoglass.com, not sure how apple can say you cant unless they have some copyright to the context the word apple is used

5. iceterminal macrumors 68000

iceterminal

You can have anything with the term "apple" in it so as long as it cannot be misconstrued by others that you represent yourself as Apple (the computer company, or any other company).
    Like applefruit.com or applefallsfromatree.com, etc.
    applecomputersanddevices.com will get you some heat.

6. bk123 thread starter macrumors member

I know companys are using word apple to sell whatever they do but im saying if I use Apple to sell iPhones ipads MBs ect,,
    Mixed new and used

7. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer