Can I get a firewire > thunderbolt and then thunderbolt > dvi to add a 3rd monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macmee, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I have a 2010 iMac and want a 3rd monitor. I own a thunderbolt to DVI cable because my 2011 macbook has one, and I noticed this cable exists:

    http://store.apple.com/ca/product/MD464ZM/A/apple-thunderbolt-to-firewire-adapter

    Is it possible for me to get this cable so that I have

    firewire > thunderbolt > DVI

    and then would this allow me to support a 3rd monitor on my iMac?

    If not, what is the best way to have a 3rd monitor on a 2010 iMac without thunderbolt?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    A Mac's FireWire port cannot be adapted or converted into a Thunderbolt port. That adapter is only able to turn a Thunderbolt port into a FireWire port, not the other way.
     
  3. macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Oh :(

    Any way I can score a 3rd monitor then?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Your only option would be a USB monitor. They work, but don't have any video acceleration on Macs.
     
  5. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
  6. macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
  7. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #7
    It's the other way around. It's T-bolt to FW, not FW to T-bolt. You need a T-bolt equipped Mac to use that device and it gives you FW800.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    Check out Display Link's website. They're the ones that make all of the USB monitors because of their patents and non-licensing of it. They do have drivers for Intell based versions of Mac OS X.
     

Share This Page