Can I hook up a second monitor to the new iMacs? Specifically the 27?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jdad, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. jdad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    here's a second question, I know I can use the imac as a second screen for my mbp, but can I use my mbp as a secrond screen for my imac?

    It doesn't make much sense to have the slower/older/less memory/ less storage computer driving the big new fast one.

    So, can I use my iMac to output to my MBP?


    (I don't know the answer for sure, but I am guessing no)
     
  2. jdad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #3
    So all I would need is a MiniDisplay to DVI connector and then I could connect a second display?
     
  3. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #4
    yes. up to 30" 2560 X 1600.

    iMacs have been able to do a second display for many, many years.

    Right in the tech specs, not really hard to find:

    http://www.apple.com/imac/specs.html

    Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to a 30-inch display (2560 by 1600 pixels) on an external display
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    no, you need a DVI connector to Display Port connector. that is apples 'new' technology.

    that will then work :)
     
  5. jdad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
  6. at2wells macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Location:
    Zed Zed 9 Plural Zed Alpha
    #7

    As the others have mentioned, of course you can set up a second display. What you need all depends on what your second display is. For instance, Im new to mac, but Im going to keep my old monitor and use it to throw iTunes over on so Im not switching back and forth. The old 17" Hp flatscreen I have is a VGA hookup, so Ill need a mini-to-VGA. Just go to apple's website, they have everything there and do a pretty good job about telling you in the product descriptions what it is you will need and what each adapter will work with.
     
  7. jdad thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #8
    here's a second question, I know I can use the imac as a second screen for my mbp, but can I use my mbp as a secrond screen for my imac?

    It doesn't make much sense to have the slower/older/less memory/ less storage computer driving the big new fast one.

    So, can I use my iMac to output to my MBP?


    (I don't know the answer for sure, but I am guessing no)
     
  8. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #9
    In short, no.
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    the answer is no, but you can do this using software. its a bit slow though.
     

Share This Page