Can I Jailbreak an 'O2 unlocked' 3G iPhone on 3.1.3?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iBrody, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. iBrody macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #1
    Sorry for posting a question that is probably retarded to a lot of you guys, but I have not got a clue when it comes to hacking so apologies in advance!...

    From the many posts and threads, it seems that there is no easy way to unlock then jailbreak a 3G handset already on OS 3.1.3 with BB 05.12.01, but can i jailbreak my phone without rolling it back to 3.1.2 because it is already unlocked from O2 (it was unlocked via the online web form on the O2 website in December 09)?

    I currently use a Vodafone sim.

    If I have no choice but to roll the OS back to 3.1.2, is there an idiots guide to do the rollback and jailbreak? Will a rollback of the OS affect my unlocked handset (that was previously locked to O2)? I want to keep my Voda sim.

    Thanks (and apologies if this has been asked before).
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    You cant unlock it since you updated to 3.1.3
    No more voda sim, it will recognize only official 02 Sims unless its officially unlocked by your carrier/Apple.
    You can JB with Redsnow.
     
  3. iBrody thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #3
    It was already unlocked officially by my original carrier, O2, using the online web form.

    Does this mean if I use Redsnow to jailbreak it (on 3.1.3?) it will revert back to being locked on O2?

    So confused :confused:

    Sorry...

    BTW, I am Mac, can I use Redsnow?
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Oh if it was officially unlocked then you're good.
    You can use it on any GSM carrier.
    Follow this to JB it with redsnow on a mac.
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7429
    Did you activate the iphone yet thru itunes with your simcard in?
     
  5. iBrody thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #5
    The original O2 contract was activated ok using iTunes.

    After O2 unlocked the handset, I just put the Voda sim in, plugged it to iTunes, iTunes downloaded the carrier setings and that was it. I don't recall iTunes stating whether it had been activated with the Voda sim, but I have never had any issues, and upgraded to 3.1.3 using the Voda sim (if that makes any difference?).

    Thanks for your advice btw, much appreciated

    Ps, Can Pwnage jailbreak my phone too just out of interest?
     
  6. ste1164 macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
  7. iBrody thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #7
    Used Redsnow and everything so far seems to be working ok.

    Thanks for the guidance
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Glad it worked out.
    Yes, pwnage is an option also.
     
  9. giosuesugar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #9

    Hi Applejuiced,

    Just to confirm....I have just requested the official o2 unlock....I am using a 3G 3.1.3 jailbroken iphone. Should I restore the iphone to it's original settings before I officially unlock my iphone? or will it work with my redsn0w jailbroken iphone?? Any help would be very much appreciated!!
    Giosuesugar
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Once it goes thru and o2 sends you the confirmation that your phone is now unlocked they will tell you to restore it thru iTunes and then you will be ok.
    After that you can use redsnow again to jb it and install all your stuff.
     
  11. fairlysteady macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    #11
    What about same set up as above but iphone 3gs?
     
  12. giosuesugar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #12
    Hi Applejuiced,

    IT WORKED FIRST TIME!! I even did it and then it asked me to sync but I'm never going to sync my iphone again!!! I managed to unlock it a month ago on 3.1.2 then upgraded to 3.1.3.....I was never aware that o2 allowed you to unlock officially!!!!! CHEERS!!! I HAVE A IPHONE NOW!!! not just a ipod touch!!!

    btw, it never asked me to restore to latest software? so I don't need to jailbreak again...it's kept all of my stuff.
    Thanks for the help. Giosuesugar
     

Share This Page