Can I make a genius appointment for a Mac with out-of-date Applecare

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kdum8, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. kdum8 macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    My Applecare ran out on my MBP over a year ago, but if I make an appointment with the genius staff in my local Apple Store will they still help me diagnose a problem or will they not want to know because it is out of warranty?

    I am not familiar with Apple's procedure on this.

    For the record I bought my MBP back in April 2008.
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    They'll be happy to look at it and give you an estimate.
     
  3. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    The thing is it isn't a hardware problem, I just need advice on an aspect of the OS that is causing problems.
     
  4. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #4
    Hardware is relatively ez to diagnose, ur kind of problem they may quote u the hourly rate. ^)

    Some here are helpful, wanna try us first?. I prefer no more than 3 short paragraphs to explain ur problem.
     
  5. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #5
    They'll help you.
     
  6. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  7. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    Thanks. Good to know if I decide to go in.

    Actually I did but no one helped hence I thought about going in to an Apple Store as I live close to one.

    Basically since updating to Mountain Lion whenever I shut the lid of my MBP (whether on battery or on power), upon re-opening the lid the computer reboots, i.e. sleep isn't working. This is really annoying as the reboot cycle takes nearly 4 minutes! I see that some other people had a similar issue but I have no idea how to fix it. :eek:
     
  8. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #8
    Smc reset, if that doesn't work, restore.
     
  9. efirmage macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #9
    ^ this. But the Genius bar is a free resource for future issues.
     
  10. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    I know how to perform an SMC reset, I'll do that now.

    But restore? Do you mean from TM?


    I see, thanks! I didn't realise one could make an appointment anytime to get help with problems even out of warranty. That is a good service.
     
  11. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #11
    Yes, but wipe the drive first, reinstall osx, then restore from tm
     
  12. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    Wow, quite a drastic step. May I ask why this would fix the problem? Isn't this just the same as doing an install of ML anyway?

    Has this step resolved the problem for other people? I don't want to perform this rather time consuming step if it isn't absolutely necessary.
     
  13. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #13
    It's a last ditch resort that will fix the issue if it is software based.
     
  14. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #14
    Yes, if you have TM activated. However reset your SMC first.

    Incidentally, there is a user etresoft from  discussion forum who made an app to diagnose software issues on Mac. From there you can roughly see what kinda problem your Mac is facing. Combining this app with another Mac-cleaning software (ie. CleanMyMac, paid app), I'm able to resolve my software issues and constant beachballing.

    Here is the thread. https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4191376?start=0&tstart=0

    Here is the app as discussed. http://www.etresoft.com/download/EtreCheck.zip
     
  15. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #15
    FWIW, the general consensus is that cleaning apps tend to do more harm than good.
     
  16. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #16
    OK, I'll take your word for it. But why would a reinstall of ML fix something that was only caused by installing ML in the first place? I am a little confused? :confused:


    I'll take a look, thanks


    I have heard that too.
     
  17. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #17
    You installed an entire operating system on top of an existing one. Its major surgery and sometimes there are complications.
     
  18. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #18
    And I beg to differ. In my instant, it helped me tremendously since I have procrastinated for 1 year to solve my issues, until eventually I did it.

    Leftovers from deleted softwares like launch agents and daemons and broken links can interfere with system performances, especially if they do a lot of "drag-and-delete" while uninstalling their softwares. Reading your console logs will most likely prove my point. In the OP's case, having a 2008 Mac means he probably installed a considerable number of softwares over the years and upgrade at least 2 OSes. I would however, advise anyone who wishes to use cleaning apps to read reviews of the said apps before using them.

    As far as CleanMyMac is concerned, there are checkboxes for you to choose what to clean up. The general practice is if you aren't sure, don't delete them.

    I also repair my disk and disk permission from the Recovery Partition holding down command+R during startup after I cleaned my Mac, to make sure all permissions and system structures are correct.
     
  19. M5RahuL macrumors 68030

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    This. Even with Windows, I always do fresh install versus simply upgrading from version A to B ( unless its a minor update )

    A clean install should most likely resolve your issue!
     
  20. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #20
    Its the same thing on my imac intel core 2 duo
     
  21. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #21
    OK understood. However if I reinstall ML and then copy across my settings and data from TM, is that still a clean install? Wouldn't I just be re-importing the old problem back again from TM?
     
  22. ECUpirate44, Jan 4, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013

    ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #22
    Unlikely. However when I do TM restores, I only restore apps, users, and documents. I do leave settings unchecked.
     
  23. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #23
    OK I'll do that then. Thanks. :) Let's hope it works.

    For the record, I reset the SMC but it didn't change anything.
     
  24. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #24
    Darn, then it's worth a few hours to restore and rule out a software issue! Good luck and goodnight east coast!
     
  25. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #25
    Night. Thanks again! ;)
     

Share This Page