Can I move my old hard drive to my new Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by borderless, Oct 15, 2008.

1. borderless macrumors newbie

Hi All -

Just picked up a new Macbook Pro today.

Last week, I installed a new 320gb, 7200rpm drive in my (now) old Macbook Pro.

The MBP I picked up today has the 5400rpm drive so I don't want to use it.

Can I simply take the drive from my old MBP and put it in the new MBP?

2. Empyre macrumors member

I dont see why not, they are both SATA and as long as they are the same size it should just fit right into the HDD slot I reckon. But im not an expert on mac notebook hardware so dont take my word for it, but it shouldn't be any different...just a straight up swap.

3. panzer06 macrumors 68030

panzer06

Yes, it will work. Just clone the drive that is in the new MBP to the 7200 version using SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner (put the old MBP in Target mode or use and external housing for the 7200). Then put the 7200 in the new MBP.

Cheers,

4. borderless thread starter macrumors newbie

Didn't work - keeps "rebooting"

Guys - any help here.

I replaced the drive and when I turned on the new MBP, it made the normal booting sound, light blue blank screen came up for a few seconds. Then the screen went black again and repeated (sound, light blue screen, black).

Any ideas?

5. panzer06 macrumors 68030

panzer06

Did you clone the data from the new 5400 to the 7200 first? You can't boot the new system from the old install.

You need to migrate your data from the old drive (7200) to the 5400 that came with the system (using the migration utility that comes up when you first setup the system) and then clone the drive.

Cheers,

6. borderless thread starter macrumors newbie

Nope.. but I am now... the firewire 800 is making a huge difference. I have about 60gigs I chose to migrate and it's only going to take 20 minutes to transfer. Not too bad.

7. borderless thread starter macrumors newbie