Can I play Dragon Age 2 in Bootcamp on my particular Mac? Details inside:

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Ovenall, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. Ovenall macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    I'm running a MacBook Pro with a 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor, 4GB RAM.

    I have a Boot Camp installation of Windows Vista with SP2 and plenty of room to install the game, but I'm wondering how my specs shape up to the minimum/recommended specs that Bioware has listed for Dragon Age 2:

    Recommended:
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz Processor or equivalent
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 Triple core 2.8 GHz or equivalent
    RAM: 2GB (4 GB Vista and Windows 7)
    Video: ATI 3850 512 MB or greater
    Video: NVIDIA 8800GTS 512 MB or greater
    DirectX 11: ATI 5850 or greater
    DirectX 11: NVIDIA 460 or greater

    Minimum:
    OS: Windows XP with SP3
    OS: Windows Vista with SP2
    OS: Windows 7
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo (or equivalent) running at 1.8 GHz or greater
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 (or equivalent) running at 1.8 GHz or greater
    RAM: 1 GB (1.5 GB Vista and Windows 7)
    Video: Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256 MB
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS 256 MB cards
    Disc Drive: DVD ROM drive required
    Hard Drive: 7 GB
    Sound: Direct X 9.0c Compatible Sound Card Windows Experience Index: 4.5

    I don't need to play at maximum resolution. I just don't know how to translate the specs given to what graphics capabilities my Mac has. For what it's worth, I was able to install Oblivion and play it at fairly high settings. I never tried the original Dragon Age.

    I'd rather not get the Mac version of the game as I read that Dragon Age 1 for the Mac was pretty poorly done compared to the PC version.

    I realize this is somewhat speculative as the game is not released yet, but thanks for any help or insight you can give me.
     
  2. Cougarcat, Feb 8, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2011

    Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    You need to list your graphics card. If it's a 320M, you should be OK on medium. If you have a 15" with the 330M, you should be good to go on high.

    BTW, the game is looking like it'll be on a hybrid disc, so you'll be able to try it out on both OSes.
     
  3. Ovenall thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    Groan. Sorry, forgot to add the graphics card...

    It's a GeForce 8600M GT. My MacBook Pro is from early 2008, and might be a 2007 model.
     
  4. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #4
    You are probably looking at low settings then, with a few on medium.
     
  5. Ovenall thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    Thanks for the replies. Very much appreciated.

    Anyone else have a different opinion on this? Just wondering.

    I'll probably buy it anyway and try it out. I plan on getting a new MBP this year (15", highest specs) once they finally release a new batch of them. Then I can install it on that one and give it a try.
     
  6. bismarrck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #6
    Macworld told us that DA2 runs even better than DAO. Interesting!

    So your 8600mgt would be sure to handle it well as well as my 9600mgt.

    I have preordered the retail version. Preying to get it earlier:p
     
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
    In that case, you will definitely be fine. All signs are pointing to a MBP refresh around mid-March.
     
  8. DoghouseMike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Yea, you're kinda falling between the minimum specs (ie "will barely run it") and the recommended specs (or "will run it pretty well"), so deffo playable, probably mediumish settings.
     
  9. SuperMatt macrumors 6502

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #9
    I'm not sure where you read this, but I played through DA:O twice, and have installed all sorts of mods and downloadable content. I haven't had problems with it. I have a MBP 17" 2.8GHz. I also believe that DA 2 will be coming out on a hybrid install disk. You could install the mac version and try it out before doing the boot camp thing. I think it's much more convenient to play games in the OS X environment than it is to reboot every time you want to play. I have recently been playing Dead Space, and it really is inconvenient to reboot all the time. With Dragon Age, I could just open it for a quick gaming session, and jump back out to the Mac OS, or even go into windowed mode and check something on my mac without even quitting the game.

    Matthew
     
  10. Ovenall thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    I'm glad to hear you had a good experience with DA1 on OSX. I can't remember where I read it, but I do remember reading more than once that the performance was really choppy on the Mac version even on higher end machines. I never tried it, so I cannot say for sure myself, only reporting what I had read.

    It's great news that it's Mac and PC on one disc. I certainly will try the OSX install first (once I get my new machine) as I agree booting into Windows just to play a game is annoying.

    Question - you WERE able to install mods for Dragon Age on the Mac version?
     
  11. SuperMatt macrumors 6502

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #11
    Yes. Most of them are dazip files, which you can install using the Modazipin software. A few mods had to be manually placed in the famous "core/override" folder which, on the mac, is in the Bioware folder which is within the documents folder. I think one of them was an exe file, which I opened with Wine and it installed without issue. Each mod is different, but like I said, most are dazip files, and you should google "modazipin" and use that to manage all your mods.
     
  12. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #12
    If it's a 8600M GT, you may be eligible to have it replaced (if it dies) as those cards had a run of bad solder bumps.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2377
     
  13. foiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #13
    That would be fantastic if that is true. DAO ran very well on even the 2010 MBA 13' Ultimate in Windows 7. It's quite playable on all high settings in 1280x800. Very impressive to get nearly all bells and whistles on that thing and still watch it play quite smoothly.
     
  14. Ovenall thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #14
    Bumping this one last time because I just lost my job, and won't be getting a new MacBook Pro any time soon.

    So again... Anyone have opinions on how well it might play on my machine?:

    Late 2007 MacBook Pro with a 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor, 4GB RAM, GeForce 8600M GT

    I'd just like to hear more opinions. I have a Boot Camp partition, so I could play in Windows or OSX. My point is, if it seems like it wouldn't run very well on my machine I'll get it for Xbox (though I'd rather not)

    Thanks again for your help everyone.
     
  15. Huntn Suspended

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #15
    I play DAO on my MBP without issue. See signature.
     
  16. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #16
    There's going to be a demo released February 22 for PC (and maybe Mac). No more speculation!
     
  17. Ovenall thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #17
    Huntn:

    I'm looking for speculation on running Dragon Age 2 on my machine... I posted the system requirements for DA2 at the top of the thread. Thanks.
     
  18. Nightarchaon, Feb 18, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2011

    Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #18
    if its the 512MB 8600 you will be running DA:2 on high under bootcamp, and low under MAC unless the mac code is native this time.

    they haven't really changed the engine from last game, and i have both PC and MAC versions,

    MAC version of DA:O is barely playable on the MBP with everything set to low.
    PC Version under Windows 7 on bootcamp runs on very high ok, and High smooth as silk.


    oh and the XboX version of DA:O was a laughing stock in terms of poor quality, low res over compressed textures and crapy graphics..
    either play it under windows, or get a PS3
     
  19. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #19
    oh, and on a side note,

    Dragon Age 2 has MAC and PC version on one disk.. so you can buy it once and install it under OSX and again under Windows on bootcamp and see how badly the MAC OS is lagging as a gaming platform.
     
  20. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #20
    I wouldn't blame a Cider port performing poorly on just Mac OS X... its basically running the Windows version with an extra translation layer.
     
  21. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #21
    Demo is now live, although the download speed isn't exactly stellar; might want to wait for a mirror to pop up somewhere.

    Sadly, no Mac demo; Windows only. I'm going to try to Wineskin it, just for kicks. (Low expectations!)
     
  22. Ovenall thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #22
    Good news!

    I downloaded and played the demo last night on my MacBook Pro (see specs at very top of the thread, graphics card is GeForce 8600M GT)

    It ran smoothly with Medium level graphics. High level graphics was locked out... not sure if it was just on my machine or not. There were some issues with pauses before and during cut scenes, but it has been acknowledged by Bioware that these are issues with the demo and will be fixed in the final game.

    It's definitely a demo. Lots of stuff is locked out to keep the file size down I suppose. And possibly there will be some areas with more massive fights and performance might be worse, but I am very, very pleasantly surprised by how well it works so far.
     
  23. DoghouseMike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    For what it's worth, it runs pretty awesomely on a 2010 13inch MBP, under windows 7, with "Medium" settings.
    High is blocked out unless you enable the DX11 renderer, which needed something else switching on too (full screen somethingorother), and after all that it was pretty jerky, and didn't, to my eyes, look much better. I think there were fancier shadows, and some things looked a bit shinier, but I didn't persevere much with high settings, to be honest. Perhaps the full game will offer "advanced" settings, so you can play with better textures but less detailed shadows and water, or something. Like most games do.
    There is a thread on here to do with overclocking the the 320m though, so perhaps the extra performance gained from that would make "High" playable. I might have a bit more of a play when the full game is out, but only have the xbox version on preorder
     
  24. Ovenall thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #24
    Regarding the Xbox version:

    http://www.gamespot.com/shows/now-playing/?event=now_playing_dragon_age_ii20110222

    This is a 30 minute video (!!) with an interview and tons of real gameplay footage of the Xbox version. I didn't watch the whole thing, but I have to say that after seeing the parts I saw I may just get it for Xbox, period.

    OK, I'm seeing it on a small video window in an online vid, but it looks really damn good, better than DA1 for XBox by a long shot. And the camera control and angles looks the same as what they have in the PC demo. Also, some of the party control, selecting people, etc., seemed really clunky in the PC demo. I know a really high end PC with all the bells and whistles on will look and probably perform better, but I don't have a really high end PC.

    I'm seriously considering just going for the Xbox version now.
     
  25. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #25
    I've played all three versions of the DA2 demo (Xbox, PS3, and PC) and I'd rate them in the following order: Xbox 360 > PC > PS3

    The game just feels really good with a controller due to it's faster paced combat although you can still pause and choose targets on all versions so the tactical combat option is still there.

    I'll probably be buying it on all three platforms, again, so it won't matter either way but if I could only buy one version and I wanted it to perform well I'd vote Xbox 360.
     

Share This Page