Can I pre-order and set up a new number?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AnthonySmith, Sep 8, 2012.

  1. AnthonySmith macrumors 6502

    AnthonySmith

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Southern CA
    #1
    So my brother and I are switching over to Verizon from AT&T to join my family's plan.

    So what we want to do is pre-order two new iPhones and join my family's plan that is already in place.

    Is this possible? And can this be done on Apple.com when I go to pre-order?
     
  2. AFDoc macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado Springs USA for now
    #2
    Yes, you would have to use the plan "owners" info to purchase the phones.
     
  3. AnthonySmith thread starter macrumors 6502

    AnthonySmith

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Southern CA
    #3
    So I can add my own line to a pre-existing Verizon ShareEverything plan? And do so by pre-ordering on the pre-order date?

    Does that sound like it would work?
     
  4. AFDoc macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado Springs USA for now
    #4
    I don't have Vrz but I don't see why you couldn't do that. IF you order from Apple.com it will ask you for account "owners" information when you add choose a line.
    1. pick phone you wish to buy

    2. pick color

    3. pick model

    4. pick carrier

    5. it will ask you new ore existing with 2 options under existing
    a. replace a phone on my account with a new iPhone.
    b. add a new line to my existing account.

    6 choose option b

    7 4 boxes to fill out
    a. wireless number
    b. billing zip code
    c. last four digits of social security number
    d. billing password (if you have one)

    So if you have all that information you should not have a problem. At least with ATT, maybe someone with Vzr can comment.
     
  5. AnthonySmith thread starter macrumors 6502

    AnthonySmith

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Southern CA
    #5
    So I just went to 'fake' order a 4S to see the process of it.

    I can add a new line. That's not a problem. I'm just curious to see if I can do that when I pre-order.
     
  6. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #6
    Pretty sure LOTS of preorders are basically for NEW service. Should not be any problem.
     
  7. AnthonySmith thread starter macrumors 6502

    AnthonySmith

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Southern CA
    #7
    Thank you guys so much for clearing this up. I really appreciate it.
     

Share This Page