Can I preserve the baseband if I have a 3G and am running windows?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lukeman3000, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. lukeman3000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #1
    Here's my iPhone specs:

    status: locked (NOT jailbroken or unlocked - ever)
    version: 2.2(5G77)
    modem firmware: 02.28.00

    I would like to jailbreak, but I've also been reading about how it's important to "preserve the baseband" if you decide to update to 2.2 and all this other stuff if you ever want the chance of a soft-unlock.

    Well, seeing as how I have already updated to 2.2 via iTunes, am I screwed as far as a possible, future soft-unlock would go?

    Can I use this tutorial? I want to do everything as far as "preserving the baseband goes", but this tutorial doesn't make much of a mention of it. Can someone give me the long and short of this deal and tell me what I'm looking at? I would greatly appreciate it!
     
  2. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #2
    The ONLY baseband you can be software unlocked on is 02.28.00 :rolleyes:

    It's 2.2.1 that you don't want to update to. You can unlock your phone right now if you wanted to.

    Upgrading to 2.2.1 will update the baseband, rendering you unable to unlock. If you use a Custom Firmware package (PM me for one, use in iTunes with shift-click restore) that will preserve the 02.28.00 baseband, but still upgrade to 2.2.1, you can unlock.

    If you had tried using "The Google" you would have found this information in seconds.

    Oh, and that tutorial is for QuickPwn, which CANNOT unlock 3Gs. the only software unlock for a 3G is yellowsn0w.
     
  3. lukeman3000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #3
    The bolded part is confusing to me.

    My iPhone 3G is not even jailbroken yet, so I need to use QuickPwn to jailbreak it, and THEN run yellowsn0w, right?
     
  4. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #4
    Find/borrow a Mac machine and use Pwnage Tool with a downloaded 2.2.1 firmware file. When you create your custom package (never trust anyone who offers you a link or a file unless you know them very well), you can set it so that it does not update your baseband:

     
  5. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #5
    Yup. Yellowsn0w is installed from the phone itself, no computer required for that part.
     

Share This Page