Can I put 4GB of RAM in my MB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by GRN99EX, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. GRN99EX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #1
    My wife decided after a month with her Macbook, that she would rather have the Air. She bought the Air last weekend, and I inherited the MB. I bought a new MBP for work in March, and put the 2GB of ram from that in the MB. Right now it is a 2.2GHz 2GB of RAM MB, but if I can upgrade it to 4 GB, then I might just go ahead and order the RAM.

    The build date for my MB says "week 6 (Feb 2008)", and I am wondering if it will handle 4 GB. I appreciate any help you can give me.

    Thanks!

    -Sean
     
  2. quasinormal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    #3
    Yes you can. Earlier models could only see 3GB, but yours will see the full 4GB.
     
  3. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    yes you can. just make sure to pick up a set of mini screwdrivers to make the installation of the ram easier. i upgraded my mb to 4gb immediately hah (also feb 08 build).
     
  4. GRN99EX thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #5
    Just ordered the 4 GB Kingston Apple kit from newegg for $85.99. NE ships out of Edison NJ, which is only about 45 miles north of me, so even with 3 day select I will have it by Tuesday.

    Thanks for you help!!!
     
  5. pagansoul macrumors 65816

    pagansoul

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    For 4GB you need 2x2 and will have to drop your 1x2 if this is how your machine is currently set up.
     
  6. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
  7. BlackThunder macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #8
    I still suggest with earlier models to put in 4GBs...

    That's what I have in mine. You get the added benefit of having a matching pair, plus your system recognizes 3.3gbs (as you probably already know)

    If ram weren't so damn cheap now I would agree with you.. but for 70 bucks just get the 4gbs and know that you have maxed it out.

    -2.16 ghz MacBook PreSR-
     
  8. GRN99EX thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #9
    The machine originally came with 2 X 512MB, and I swapped that for the 2 X 1BG that came in my MBP. I just added 2 x 2GB which I ordered from NewEgg. All is good now! :D
     

Share This Page