Can I use any copy of XP to install on my Mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Mjmar, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. Mjmar macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #1
    We've had several windows computers that all came with XP reinstall discs... Would I be able to use one of those discs to install XP into virtual box, or do I need to buy a copy of Windows?
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    You would need an actual install copy for the CD. The licenses may work. It depends on what CD's you actually have.
     
  3. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    Those are probably OEM disk and will not work. Download Windows 7 RC. You'll be happy you did.
     
  4. Mjmar thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #4
    I was going to, but I want to play a game that is compatible with XP... Not sure if it'll work with Windows 7. Plus I want it to be more of a permanent solution.
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    It's still possible to buy XP install disks. Some people say you can buy an OEM XP disk , others say you need full xP. either way, you need SP2 at least.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Of course it will work natively... :eek:

    And if it's a game from Windows 98 or older and it DOESN'T work, You have a full copy of XP included INSIDE Windows 7.
     
  7. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #7
    Your game should run under Windows 7. Although Microsoft does bonehead moves, it has allowed for backwards-compatability in 7.
     
  8. Mjmar thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #8
    I'm trying to download windows 7 now but all I've seen for 10 minutes is this screen:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Nick A macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #9
    It only works on internet explorer, so you need to burn the CD on a Windows machine.
     
  10. ian.maffett macrumors 6502

    ian.maffett

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    It is possible to install from an OEM disk (such as Dell) as long as it's not an OLD system rebuild disk (you would know, it'll be printed on the disk).
    As for licensing - OEM licenses are not supposed to be put on any machine other than the one the COA is stuck to. That being said, the rest is up to you.
     
  11. Mjmar thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #11
    Hmmmm.... just tried it in Firefox and it works.
     
  12. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    Try some other web browser besides safari. It worked for me with firefox
     

Share This Page