Can I use keyboard commands or terminal to connect my mini to wifi without a monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by anotherkenny, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. anotherkenny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #1
    It's a known, open wifi. My mini has had trouble automatically joining a network, and I don't have a monitor here. What shortcuts can I push to connect so that I can control it with my ipad?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    If your mini isn't connecting to your wireless network, you can't connect to it. You either need a monitor or a WiFi connection. You're out of luck if you have neither.
     
  3. anotherkenny thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #3
    Okay

    that saddens me, especially because it's so easy to connect to wifi. I wish I could just move the mouse the correct distance from the top right corner, and then down. Does the mouse work without a monitor attached? Or is there any terminal trick anybody knows?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Yes, the mouse works, but without a monitor, you can't see where it is or what you're clicking on. Even Terminal or keyboard commands require a monitor for accurate feedback.
     
  5. SDub90 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Long Island
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Your absolute best bet (besides getting a hold of a monitor for a short while) is to use another computer as a reference to use the keyboard to enable VoiceOver then use VoiceOver as a guide to connecting wifi.
     
  6. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #6
    Spoken like someone who's never been too lazy to drag a monitor down to a makeshift basement server room. ;)

    OP :

    Code:
    $ networksetup -setairportnetwork enX SSID Password
    Combine with cmd-spacebar to pop up Spotlight and run Terminal :

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=171464
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    At least today's monitors weigh a lot less than they did back in the day! :D
     
  8. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #8
    simple solution
    VNC to it from an other computer
     
  9. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #9
    You didn't quite read the OP did you ? ;)
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    And how exactly would you do that?
     
  11. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #11
    Yes, but the laziness still remains. ;)
     
  12. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #12
    sure did

    plug an iPhone into it and make a hotspot which you connect your laptop to, or connect it directly to your laptop with an ethernet cable

    ta da
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    I've never been too lazy, but now I have an excuse... I'm too old and tired! :D
     
  14. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #14
    So go to bed, and leave young guys to troll tech forums!
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    The OP didn't say if they have an iPhone or a laptop and what does a laptop have to do with anything, anyway, and where, exactly would you plug an ethernet cable into an iPad? I may be old, but I can read and comprehend the original post!
     
  16. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #16
    your right, I missed the iPad part, but that just makes things really simple!
    start internet sharing, plug the iPad into the mini, download some vnc app, vnc into it.
     
  17. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #17
    Ah, all steps that you didn't mention in your initial reply. Your first reply does make it seem like you didn't read the OP at all, you have to admit.

    Now, backtracking, a few problems with your solutions :

    - If his network isn't working, what makes you think it will connect to the iPad hotspot ? What makes you think it will work over USB ? Bluetooth ?

    - If you plug it with a cross-over cable (do Macs support MDI-X over their internal Ethernet ports ?), then how do you setup the interface so it has a valid netmask/IP address ?

    All those lead back to the very simple solution I provided :

    - cmd spacebar
    - Delete key (in case something is typed there)
    - T e r m i n a l <enter>
    - networksetup with proper arguments.

    So instead of doing all the hoopla you suggest, why not just use the command I spelled out to connect to his wifi ? ;)
     
  18. GGJstudios, Dec 25, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2011

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #18
    How can you start internet sharing or download on a mini with no monitor and no wireless connection?

    .... that's what I thought! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page