Can I used 1333 Bus RAM instead of 1600 on my MBP Mid 2012

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by samiulhassan, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. samiulhassan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    #1
    hi guys,

    i am new in the mac world. i bought my macbook pro mid 2012 last december and recently i got 8x2 RAM which is 1333 bus.

    as per apple, my macbook supports 1600 BUS and my currently installed rams are also 1600 BUS.

    can you please let me know if i can use 1333 BUS RAM on my MacBook Pro Mid 2012?

    -sami
     
  2. samiulhassan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    #3
    thanks.

    should i except any problem for using 1333 bus instead of 1600 bus?
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    From the thread to I linked to, it seems not to be the case.
     
  4. samiulhassan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    #5
    which thread you are referring to?

    sorry i am bothering your too much.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    This one:
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    You should have no problems using 1333MHz RAM.
     
  7. dw3bb10 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #8
    I use 1333mhz ram in my Mid 2012 15 inch. No Problems.
     
  8. AppleTecFan macrumors 6502

    AppleTecFan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    N/A
    #9
    Yeah, it should be no problem using different bus speed. But why RAM is relatively cheap now; bought a single 8GB stick for $60 last week on OWC.

    Also (little bit related)on my old 2009 MacBook Pro, I inserted a 2GB 1600 Mhz RAM stick into the MacBook, works fine. It adjusted itself to have a max bus speed at 1066 Mhz
     

Share This Page