Can not read files after updating to macOS 10.12.2 in Time Capsule

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by A.Chakery, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. A.Chakery macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #1
    Hello,

    After I upgraded my mac to the latest version (10.12.2) I no longer have access to my files located on my Timecapsule hard drive (and all other HDDs connected to it).

    I can see the files, but when I run them (no matter with which app) it gives me me this error :

    Code:
    The application “THE APP NAME” can’t be opened.
    -36
    And the funny thing is that I do have access to my TimeCapsule and other HDDs using my iPad or iPhone !!

    Would you please tell me how can I solve this issue ?

    Thank you ...
     
  2. Norbert Mikołajczyk macrumors member

    Norbert Mikołajczyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #2
    I have the same problem, I haven't found any solution yet, rolled back to ElCap. :/
     
  3. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #3
    Thank you for your reply,

    You know I have done too many tests, When you install a fresh Sierra, you also have no issues but the moment you install the latest update (10.12.2), this issue happens.

    I would appreciate suggestions
     
  4. Norbert Mikołajczyk macrumors member

    Norbert Mikołajczyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #4
    oh, I see. I've tried a fresh install 10.2.2. I guess we have to wait for the 10.2.3 then...
     
  5. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #5
    I hope they would be able to solve this issue in 10.2.3 .. I was searching and came up with the same issue back in 2009 , but with Snow Leopard ...

    Link : https://discussions.apple.com/message/10102949#10102949

    I am searching to see if I would be able to find the solution... but I am kind of sure this is a software issue ..
     
  6. Norbert Mikołajczyk macrumors member

    Norbert Mikołajczyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #6
    yep, definitely a software issue.
    I archive my projects as .dmg files on network drive too and I'm not able to open them via afp protocol, but when i try smb protocol it works and the images mount.
     
  7. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #7
    hmm.. I have no idea .. as I am going through all 14 pages of the topic which I mentioned ... I noticed two solutions (SOFAR :D)

    1- Repairing Disk permissions >> Meaningless to me because I tested it using my brand new TimeCapsule which had no files on it ... however I tried and it didn't work (but you can try of course)

    2- Here is the second one which is also meaningless, cause I am the admin of my own Mac so I probably should have full access to my TC !

    Still searching .. will keep you updated...
     
  8. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #9
    OK ... I believe we have no option but crossing our fingers for the next update release ...

    The funny thing is that I have an Airport Extreme and it woks fine .. but the TimeCapsule which I bought recently has this issue :(
     
  9. Norbert Mikołajczyk macrumors member

    Norbert Mikołajczyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #10
    seriously? I'm on the Airport Extreme too and have those problems :/
    But I had them before Apple updated the Airport Extreme firmware last week and had no chance to check the new firmware with 10.2.2...
    I will probably install fresh system and check this out when the 10.2.3 comes.
     
  10. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #11
    Personally I have not updated my A.Ext. firmware yet. And now I am concerned that if I update my firmware I may face these issues with my A.Ext. too :(

    I am not 100% sure what security changes have been made in 10.12.2 but you can stay with 10.12.1 till the next release ...

    But what I am worry about is that it takes more than 2 updates for apple to solve this issue ... because in 2009 they made the same mistake in Snow Leopard and it took a long time for them to solve this issue :(
     
  11. Norbert Mikołajczyk macrumors member

    Norbert Mikołajczyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #12
    Yep, that's why I'm sticking with ElCap right now.
    Will try to install the Sierra on my test partition when the new update arrive.
    I'm sick of these bugs, there is more of them with every new version :/
     
  12. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #13
    So you mean you had the same issue with A.Ext. Firmware version 7.7.7 ?

    DO I update ? :D
     
  13. Norbert Mikołajczyk macrumors member

    Norbert Mikołajczyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #14
    yes, I think you can update the firmware.
    Remember that you can roll back to 7.7.7 and older anytime without a problem.
    As I remember just hold the Option key when hovering the mouse over the version number in Airport Utility :)
     
  14. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #15
    Oh ok ... thank you...

    But the sad thing is that sooner or later they will stop their support for their Airport and TimeCapsule devices .. since they have stopped their router production lines.
     
  15. Norbert Mikołajczyk macrumors member

    Norbert Mikołajczyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #16
    Yep, hands down. I bought my new A.Extreme just 3 months ago :/
    Can't understand the new Apple strategy...
     
  16. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #17
    It about more profit ...

    There are good products on the market .. but we will have less compatibility while we would have to pay kind of more.

    I have been using my A.Ext. for about two years now... I am have been more than happy ... it can handle too many hard drives (of course with a good USB HUB .. mine is Dlink with power supply) ... So you made the right decision buying an Airport Ext.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 27, 2016 ---
    I updated my Airport Extreme Firmware to 7.7.8 and this happened to it as well ... sothis is definitely Airport Firmware which cases this issue. And even if you roll-back your firmware .. it would not work any more... DAMNNNNNNN
     
  17. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #18
    Hello,

    I have tested it on 3 different machines and 3 different devices, two Airport Extremes (2013) and One Time Capsule (2013).

    If you update your Airport Firmware to 7.7.8, you would not be able to access your files directly from finder in your Mac Sierra (10.12.2) .

    Apple has messed up something either in this firmware or 10.12.2 macOS update.
     
  18. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #19
    I'll test mine later, but I'm sure I copied 3 x .pvm files after update via finder to Express > TC
     
  19. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #20
  20. deany, Dec 27, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2016

    deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #21
    Hi
    I have sucessfully copied a .jpg file to TC and back to rMBP 2015 on 10.12.2 and 7.7.8
    Also I clicked on a .mp3 file on TC from a TM backup and it played on my mac.
    Hope this helps

    edit
    using 7.7.8
     
  21. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #22
    Yeah for sure ... in 7.7.7 everything was working for me... but please read the thread title ... its about 7.7.8 ...

    After the update to 7.7.8 .. even if you downgrade to 7.7.7 it would not work ...


    And it is not about copying ... its about running files from FINDER ...
     
  22. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #23
    Sorry I have been uses 7.7.8 since launch day I was confusing my firmware numbering.

    All my above tests are latest 7.7.8

    7 is my lucky number I guess it confused me.

    When you say running does playing a .mp3 file off TM via TM backup - Finder qualify?

    thanks
     
  23. A.Chakery thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #24
    :D ... Thank you but its not about copying ... its about Running fils directly from Finder ... to me it seems like a Permission conflict in between these two updates which causes finder to not to be able to launch files ... (how ever I am able some specific files ...)

    This is the error which I get :

    The application “QuickTime Player.app” can’t be opened.
    Error -36


    I repaired my HDD permissions but no luck...

    It works fine in 10.12.1 and before...
     
  24. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #25
    Hi

    Yep I understand now, copying isn't the issue.

    Does playing an .mp3 from TM that was created from a TM backup qualify as a test? as the file plays fine.
     

Share This Page