Can People Please Confirm DDR3 1600/PC3 12800 Runs at 1600Mhz?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dwalls90, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #1
    More specifically, this RAM?;

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104230

    I remember that originally people said the MBP would down clock the RAM to clocks to that of the stock RAM. However, one member posted claiming it runs at 1600Mhz.

    Any reviews, confirmations, ect.? What about compatibility in terms of longevity and kernel panics?
     
  2. edifyingGerbil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #2
    one of the reviewers on the site you linked to confirms that os x shows it as 1600MHz but i think only in the 2.2 and 2.3GHz macbook pros.

    if you do a forum search you'll see other members confirming it as well spread out in various threads.
     
  3. thermodynamic Suspended

    thermodynamic

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    My 17" 2011 MBP does see the 1600MHz RAM as being 1600MHz. If the i7 can utilize the bandwidth, that's AWESOME.

    I'm going to look for benchmark utilities - maybe they can help confirm the issue conclusively, but if they can - it's so much the better. :D

    As for the OP, if the CPU can address the RAM, as long as the RAM is good there shouldn't be stability problems or kernel panics.
     
  4. DeepIn2U macrumors 68040

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4
    I'm VERY interested in seeing if this works.

    Considering my particular Late-2011 13" MBP has the following CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel "Core i7" processor (2640M)
    Intel's site does state it supports the PC3-12800 (1600Mhz) RAM
    http://ark.intel.com/products/53464
    Dual Channel with bandwidth 21.3 GB/s.

    Macrumors member Hackintosh Sr states it works here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=12359629&postcount=33

    Macrumors member JasonH42 states his 2011 15" 2.2GHz MBP works here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=12393365&postcount=7
    (screenshots included).

    I think I need to find one with CL9 Latency, as CL10 will NOT work since its slower and Apple ships ALL MBP's with the slowest Latency supported according to the chip used.

    I'll search online tonight ... I'll order and will report back.
     
  5. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    I dropped 8GB PC3-10666 RAM in a late 2010 MBP and it just kept freezing up. Put in PC3-8500 and worked like a charm.
     
  6. DeepIn2U macrumors 68040

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #6
    Well today I can confirm the Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz RAM IS IN FACT working on my Rig.

    Bootup from cold boot improved by 7 seconds alone. I'm able to run 16 tabs in Safari in Lion with aplomb - including several flash sites; along with MI: Ghost Protocol running on 1080P external via MiniDP to HDMI adapter. Nothing heavy but its performing the same tasks much faster than it did last night.

    NOTE: I noticed that the Intel HD Graphics 3000 is now reporting 512MB of RAM being shared ... which I thought the maximum was 384MB;
    But I realized for the 2011 MBP 13" & MBA 13" Apple lists ...
    "Intel HD Graphics 3000 processor with 384MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory" with a fine print stating this is the minimum. What most ppl don't realize is this is the maximum for Airs because the RAM cannot be upgraded.
     
  7. MOKHAN macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    I don't think PC3 12800 will work, isn't it only PC310600/PC310666?
     

Share This Page